We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar's

Akbar's
73-83 Liverpool Road | Deansgate, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
0161 834 8444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 1,709 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

very nice environment and food quality is superb, we had to wait a bit in the queue but it was worth it

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    268
    100
    64
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I dined here after a Man U match in December. The bar area was busy and we had to wait for a table. We stood to one side and could see directly into the kitchen. The staff were welcoming and worked efficiently even with the restaurant working to full capacity.

The tables were decorated nicely with red rose petals which was quite sweet. The restaurant is dimly lit with candle light, good place to go for a romantic casual dinner.

The menu is quite extensive. The naan bread comes on a hook... its huge - enough for two to three people to share.

The chicken saag was amazing.

A year on, and we still drool over this place. its shockingly cheap as well!

A great find!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“City centre curry excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my wife were in Manchester over the Christmas holiday, met some friends here on the evening of our arrival and had a great meal, service was excellent, the organisation seems to have everything covered. It was so good we came to Akbars for our Christmas day meal, in the evening. The place was busy but we got a table almost immediately. We will definitely be eating at Akbar's again next time we visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Recommend the masala fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Been to Akbars roughly 10 times over the last 3 years. The que is a hassle especially when your hungry and you have to wait ,normally an hour or sometimes longer depending on what might you go. The food has always been really nice, especially the masala fish. Few criticisms however, as it is a very busy restaurant I find it unhygienic when the waiters get the dustpan and brush out to sweep around other tables as other diners as still eating. It's definitely great value for money. I will still continue to keep going there

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“best Indian I've ever had!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited here before a concert at Bridgewater hall. Went at 5 as we wanted to make sure we had finished before the show started at 7.30. Really glad we did as we were seated straight away but 10mins later the place was full!!!

There were 8 of us, we were all happy with everything we ordered! The lamb chop starter was out of this world and they had some interesting and unusual starters which people enjoyed like tandoori liver!

The curry was the best I have ever tasted, I mainly had a chicken and keema(minced lamb) balti and a lamb rogan josh. Both exceptional, as was everything I tasted. I can't believe curry can be so good! Feeling a bit addicted!!!!

It is very busy and noisy so a great atmosphere for groups but perhaps not good for a romantic meal.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

Didn't taste to salty like a lot of Indian, all very fresh and no colourings used.

You must try this place, don't be put off by long wait times, its worth it! (And there is a large bar where you can wait in so its fine)

We had a starter and main each plus sides and as much beer to drink as we wanted and it came to £20 per head... Bargain!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Akbar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.