We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar's

Akbar's
73-83 Liverpool Road | Deansgate, Manchester M3 4NQ, England (Manchester City Centre)
0161 834 8444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 1,642 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $21 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Athlone
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lively, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Twenty minute wait (on a Thursday night), but you can sit and have a drink in a lively, pleasant atmosphere. The food was beautiful. I had a chicken and chilli balti; spicy, lemony, oily. This is the food of kings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    350
    200
    71
    44
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab meal and a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a meal with friends this weekend. I had never been before but had heard good things.

Meal was yum. Service very friendly. Naan breads HUGE. Good atmosphere. Price was really good value too.

Had a little wait for table but they have a nice bar area to have a drink. First come first served policy.

Excellent :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than the Curry Mile, by a Country mile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After having been going to Wilmslow Road restaurants for many years, i unfortunately now have a very low expectation of Manchester's curry offerings. Service is always non-existent, food is swimming in grease, and so expensive, especially considering the slap-dash quality of the restaurants. However, Akbar's pleasantly surprised me. Food was good, service efficient (if a bit impersonal!) and overall tops any/all on the curry mile. Unfortunately, chips were the worst i've ever had - anywhere. I know chips are not ideal indian food, but as an accompaniment to the dishes, they still need to be of a reasonable quality! These were terrible. For people who don't like rice, this needs to be addressed.
Sort it out please guys, coz to me, it's like serving a smashing cocktail, garnished with a mouldy wedge of lime!
Little details all add up!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
writelines36
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Arrived at 6.20pm on Friday and it was very busy. Easy to grab a drink, sit in the lounge/waiting area and wait for the pager to light. This is a well organised restaurant, geared up to busy periods.
Food is excellent, service quick and efficient. Reasonably priced considering its city centre location.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the food is good the service was shocking. We booked a table and had to wait a half hour after our booking time for a table. Then when we sat down the service was shocking between getting the drink orders wrong and giving them to the wrong people, forgetting to take everyones orders and then giving these to the wrong people as well I will definately not be going back there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Akbar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akbar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.