We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lively oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
8 Clarence Street, Manchester M2 4DW, England
0161 835 9860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #290 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Less than 10 minutes' walk from the Manchester Arndale shopping centre, Deansgate and Manchester Opera House, Piccolino is a comfortable Italian restaurant in Manchester city centre. Situated on Clarence Street, Piccolino showcases a delicious variety of contemporary and traditional Italian dishes. Prepared in an open kitchen, you can observe the chefs as they create a range of rustic and straightforward Italian dishes using the freshest ingredients. Alongside popular dishes such as risottos, classic pasta options and stone-baked pizzas, the menu also features a succulent selection of meat and fresh fish courses. The Italian cuisine, prime location and friendly ambience all combine to make Piccolino Manchester ideal for an intimate dinner or a business lunch.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lively oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Decided to pop in here for a bit of lunch before a matinee performance at the Royal Exchange. Good idea. It was a really lively place - we had the 2 course lunch menu which we really enjoyed with a cold beer. The service all round was excellent and unobtrusive special mention has to go to Lorenzo who was very helpful and cheerful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    150
    62
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a lovely meal here on Sunday 25 May. Food was excellent and the surroundings warm and inviting. The waiter who looked after our table was attentive to our needs. I would recommend a visit if you are in Manchester

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Went with 2 other couples on a busy Friday night. Had a good table at the back of the restaurant but the men were facing the back wall so it was great that it was mirrored enabling us to see everything going on in the whole place!! We were all very happy with the food and service and almost happy with the price. Just a fraction high we all agreed. Some of our meals came with a portion of chips but we had to order more tiny portions at £4.00 each. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. One of our meals had been forgotten altogether so our friend ate on his own, it didn't bother us as the rest of us just drank on our own!!
A very good (not excellent) night but would go again. maybe have something to eat before we went though!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4 people hurled.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went to Piccolino for my friend's 18th hoping to have a nice meal. I was quite frankly shocked by the extortionate prices! When the meals arrived they really weren't worth what we paid. Four of us ordered the carbonara and were later sick. Most shocking of all was the steak ordered by my 'steak fanatic' friend - I tell you now she knows her steak!!! She said she could have made a better steak on a throwaway barbecue. There was also a distinct lack of accompaniments such as calamari with no fresh side salad but just a bit of burnt spinach on top which isn't really my (or anyone's) cup of tea. All in all was a pretty poor do, particularly when Croma is right across the road! :( On a positive note the service was good, our waiter was very nice but as an Italian myself, I felt more than a little bit disappointed with the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited 12/05/2014 in the evening for a meal in celebration of my 21st birthday, was greeted by a really friendly italian waiter who made us feel very welcome, offering us a seat at the bar before our meal, or we could go straight to our table. was good to have the option. served complimentary bread as we sat down and orders were taken quickly and efficiently. We just had main meals. I had Pollo al Funghi which was amazing! and my boyfriend had steak which he said was fantastic! Portion sizes were slightly smaller than other italian resteraunts ive visited but the quality was there and I want content at the end of the meal. will visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.