We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of cafe istanbul

cafe istanbul
79/81 Bridge Street | M3 2RH, Manchester, England
+44 161 833 9942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are proud to be the longest established restaurant in Manchester, serving Turkish and Mediterranean food for over 35 years. Based upon traditional cooking techniques, we delight in serving high quality Turkish cuisine, using only the highest quality ingredients cooked to perfection.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went with a group of friend about a month ago and had a good time, the food was good and all of us were satisfied and stuffed, we all had different traditional dishes and kind of shared amongst each other to try a little bit of everything, and I must say that there wasn't one dish I didn't like, the price came to just under £15 each so really can't complain, and the service was good and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    96
    26
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I dined here late afternoon on Monday, 15th April 2013 with my Fiance fo my birthday, the service was impeccable as was the food, not a massiv elover of Turkish Cuisines but thought I better make the effort as we are holidaying there in the Summer. Such value for money its was approx £9.90 each for 2 courses, whcih we shared and I can safely say we were both stuffed, the food was gorgeous. Also the lady who waited on us was lovely, really friendly and made you feel very welcome.

We will definetley be back!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Addicted to the chilli sauce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited Cafe Istanbul last month for a private celebration on a Monday - it was pretty quiet (like most restaurants in Manchester on mondays) and we got seated almost immediately. The staff were very accomodating as we had an infant with us - put us in a nice corner away from other guests.

Ordered the mixed chargrill (can never go wrong) - meat well cooked, nicely flavoured rice. But the best part of the meal was the chilli sauce that was provided- not too hot/spicy but perfect condiment for the meats! In fact, among the 4 of us we kept asking the staff to top it up and they obliged! I wonder if they would do the same during busy periods...

Certainly would visit again when I get the craving for grilled meats!

Only less than positive comment I'd make is that the deco is a bit hit & miss... but certainly not a deal breaker.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Turkish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We regularly visit Cafe Istanbul for delicious and authentic Turkish food, lovely decor and ambience and excellent and friendly service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Super service, super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

06.04.13 We have some good friends who are younger than us and who regularly explore the bars and restaurants of Manchester. Following a world tour of bars (cuba/australia/france) we ended up at Cafe Istanbul. A lovely welcome, smiles from all the staff and a lovely aroma to tempt the taste buds. The menu is varied with something for everyone, and the drinks menu is also comprehensive, although there was no Pinot Grigio by the glass. We chose the starter selection which allowed us to try a variety of cold and hot starters, from hummus through to stuffed vine leaves, and we were not disappointed - really tasty and not too much. For the main courses one chose chicken and the others three different variations on the lamb. Very tender, although the apricot lamb was slightly dry. No puddings - already eaten more than our share!
All in all a lovely evening rounded off by a great meal which we all enjoyed. We would love to go back, and we shall probably take some of our other friends along.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe istanbul also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to cafe istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cafe istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.