We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“but for a good waiter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate

Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate
82-84 Deansgate, Manchester M3 2ER, England
0161 839 0414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #505 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“but for a good waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food is always good but we were a bit dubious when we arrived at 6.00 on a quiet Tuesday night to find only the manager and a waitress rushing around to serve a room that was not busy. The waitress was friendly and welcoming but then the wait began. After 20 minutes we had to physically stop the manager to place our food and drinks order. After another 10 minutes our drinks finally arrived by which time two other couples had left. The food was of the usual high standard but the wait could have spoilt the experience.
Our special thanks to a young waiter who provided the service we usually expect, and receive, even though he was not meant to have been working that night. He saved the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    74
    34
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Rouge can always be relied upon to deliver finfood but today the service warrants my special thanks. A young woman named Sidre was our waitress. She was helpful in suggestions for my companion who cannot eat certain foods. She was cheerful, attentive and made us feel special and happy. Thank you

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food to savour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Love my food, love this restaurant. Don't feel the need to say anything else. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like the style, and great for a pre-show feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having eaten at and liked the branches of this chain in Glasgow and in London (Marylebone area), I was inclined to expect this restaurant to be better than the average chain. I was right. They were very very busy, even early on on a Saturday evening, but apart from mixing up our preparatory drinks order, we enjoyed surprisingly good food and excellent service. As we were stoking up before seeing the wonderful Leonard Cohen at the MEN arena, we even had a chat with the waitress about him. But... revenons a nos moutons, or in my case a beautifully as-rare-as-I-asked-for minute steak, with a good mixed salad and thin crispy French fries. Jim had halibut, which he rated as 'imaginatively cooked and presented from what must have been a frozen slab'. If my bearnaise sauce was bland and too gloopy, and not really 'echt', that was down to the inevitable curse of the catering pack that these places are forced to use.
A galss of sauvignon, followed by a glass of French red, induced the mellowness that well countered a Cohen concert. Well done to them for atmosphere and doing the best they can with their food. Good coffee, too

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Been here once or twice a year over the last 4/5 years. The latest time being earlier this month. As always both the service and the food were excellent. I think it has a relaxed atmosphere and I love the French Onion Soup. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge - Manchester Deansgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.