We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namaste Nepal

Namaste Nepal
164-166 Burton Road | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 1LH, England
0161 445 9060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Namaste Nepal was founded in 2005, as a restaurant that uses a perfect fusion of herbs and spices to create authentic Nepalese & Indian dishes at reasonable prices. The re-launch of Namaste Nepal in November 2011. A recent refurbishment has softened the interior of this classy establishment. The restrained red carpet, wooden tables and modern art produce an elegant, subtle effect, well suited to all diners.Namaste Nepal is under new management. Mr Chandra Kumar KC has taken Namaste Nepal into a new generation of modern Nepalese dining, with over 25 years experience he ensures your satisfaction is guaranteed.Chandra Kumar K.C has many years experience with Nepalese cuisine, Which only contains fresh herbs and Asian spices. This Nepalese cuisine has its delicate authentic flavours, which is extraordinary.Once you have made yourself comfortable in our refurbished restaurant, make your selection from our mouth watering appetisers, main dishes and desserts. To ensure the freshness of your food and an even greater variety of choice, our foods are freshly prepared on a daily basis.Why not try our Momacha’s for starters, minced lamb marinated in traditional Nepalese spices, which is then coated in a batter and steamed or Namaste Chewla which is pieces of meat prepared in the clay oven and marinated in traditional Nepalese spices with onions, green chillies, garlic and ginger (not for the faint hearted), or for vegetarians why not try our vegetable makhan which is vegetables in a tomatoes and creamy based sauce. Eat this alongside a wide range of specialties which has been prepared in our clay oven nan breads, paratha’s or oninon kulcha’.Our menu has a variety of vegetarian dishes, fish dishes and authentic traditional curries, if you don’t see it on the menu ask and the chef will be prepared to make what you require.All meals offer a variety of spices, garnishes ,and glazes and are expertly prepared at Namaste Nepal West Didsbury. The platters are perfect for sharing, and our attentive staff are happy to help with recommendations from the menu.The restaurant presents constantly developing menus and a carefully matched wine list, If you’re not a wine lover why not try our traditional Nepalese and Indian beers with your meal; at low prices the taste will give you the opportunity to try different authentic beers at reasonable prices.You are warmly invited to visit Namaste Nepal, whether your taste is for Nepalese, Indian or English dishes or a combination of the three. Our specially designed menu is able to delight and surprise you.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to Didsbury on a night out meeting friends, afterwards went for a meal at this restaurant, good move! Food was excellent and very tasty rather than just being SPICY HOT like most curry houses in the area, staff were attentive and pleasant, we were not rushed or hassled but had a wonderful experience and will defiantly return with friends and family!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome value for an authentic meal. Would recommend to anyone, especially big groups.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We regularly eat at Namaste, and it never dissapoints. Its really authentic Nepalese food, and good value. We often go as a large group or get home delivery.
The restaurants decor isn't cutting edge, but the service is friendly and welcoming. Its my favourite take away restaurant in Manchester, by a mile. A real hidden jem!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went here for a meal with the Husband, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our curries were delicious (if a little on the spicy side!), and the service was good begin with, but did tail off towards the end - I think it's because we were tucked away in a corner.
I was quite suprised as to how quiet it was, although there is a lot of choice in Didsbury - now there are 3/4 curry houses to choose from on the main strip of Burton Road alone.
A great curry house, we will certainly be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our favourite Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Almost a monthly trip for my family..
Run by the former manager and chef from the Great Kathmandhu ~ keen to do as well as their neighbour ~ service is a little bit better/quicker ~ the food is just as nice (fresh herbs and a brilliant amount of heat tailored to your needs, non fatty meat and brilliant hans) and the setting is a bit better .. It may be a suburb but its classy and worth a go - oh, and dont forget the Kathmandhu beer ~ very special..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great night, great menu choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was looking forward to this. A curry night in Manchester for the southern softies!
After a lovely day spent in the company of our friends we met a couple more and went to the Namaste Nepal.

The interior was your typical curry house type. Nice colours and traditional music playing in the background.

There was a previous review which said something along the lines of "lack of menu choice" Do me a favour!
This was obviously written by a rival eatery.

I normally know what to choose but there were so many mouthwatering choices on the menu. Some straight Nepalese, Indian or a fusion of the two.

I went with the chicken balti, my wife went with the garlic lamb, with extra garlic (no goodnight kiss for her from me).

Both dishes were absolutely delicious. The rest of our party were all happy with their dishes and the portion sizes.

The service was excellent and they made sure they took the correct order. One of the party had to wait a couple of minutes to receive his main after ours but he was kept informed by the friendly staff.

Good value for money (about £20 each) for the amount of food we devoured.

Great company and great food.

We would definitely return here to tackle that menu again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste Nepal also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Namaste Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namaste Nepal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.