We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
33a Cross Street | City Centre, Manchester M2 1NL, England (Formerly Golden Rice Bowl)
0161 832 9033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The place was busy and had a nice atmosphere. The food was very good and so was the service. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    170
    46
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Good, tasty food. Pleasant staff and brilliant opening hours. We turned up at 12pm and had a brilliant Chinese in record time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diabolical and rip offf”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Absolute rip off! Was charged over £14 for 1 sweet and sour fish.
Zero customer service and average tasting food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“My new favourite Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Saturday was a matinee performance at the theatre, some shopping and finish off with a Chinese. Having worked in Manchester for a few years I always wandered up to Chinatown. For a change my wife and I went to the Rice Bowl and so pleased we did. The biggest problem was deciding what to eat from the extensive and interesting menu. We both settled for Thai and the food was superb. Great service, lovely food and very reasonable. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Calm and pleasant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice little place. Went their early, dinner at like 5 pm because we had our toddler with us and it was a good choice. Good food and no problems. Lemon chicken was nice and my husband has Singapore chicken that was probably a little better, nice flavours. Child seats and friendly staff made our visit easier as well as the fish tank to distract our son. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rice Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.