We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punjab Tandoori Restaurant

Punjab Tandoori Restaurant
177 Wilmslow Road, Rusholme, Manchester M14 5AP, England
+44 (0)161 225 2960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I've been going to the Punjab now for many years and have never been disappointed. The Lamb Garlic Massala is to die for. I've tried many of the other restaurants on the curry mile and in the city centre but always come back here. The service is brilliant and the atmosphere lovely if somewhat a little cramped at times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    78
    11
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exiting new menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've been coming to the Punjab Tandoori for nearly 20 years and now make a 50 mile round-trip to get there. We've seen some changes over the years and, not having not been for a couple of months, we were excited to find a new menu had been introduced. As far as I could tell nothing had been removed but plenty had been added including a variety of new vegetarian dishes. The food was as good as ever and the new dishes we tried were all very tasty indeed. The majority of the menu features North Indian cuisine, as the name of the restaurant suggests, but there is also some very authentic South Indian food available including the popular dosas.
I can honestly say we've never found anywhere else quite like the Punjab for its food anywhere in the UK. There are a couple of places that are similar, and as good in their own way, but the Punjab stands out as one of a kind. So much more is on available than the usual Anglo-Indian offerings (although chicken tikka masala and the other usual suspects are available if you so desire). The staff are very friendly, extremely knowledgeable (about cricket as well as food!) and happy to offer advice should you need it.
If you've never been to the Punjab I can't urge you strongly enough to make time to give it a try. You'll never think of British Indian restaurants in the same way again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
“NYE good times good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wanted to take my Canadian girlfriend and my brother to an Indian on NYE, decided to go to the Curry Mile for something hopefully authentic, looked this place up and it was boss! Was pretty busy but we got served quick, the owner came and helped us order, asking us what kind of tastes we liked then suggesting different dishes. Food was amazin, stuff we'd never tried, came quick, prices good! Small and cosy too, and waiters didn't hover over you or nothin. Much thanks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it but awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Chose this restaurant because it had a great veggie selection. When we got there we were seated, waited forever, moved across the restaurant to accommodate a group that arrived a long time after us, then forgotten about for 30 minutes. When we eventually got drinks we waited another 30 minutes to get our food order, despite saying we were ready when we ordered the drinks. The food arrived and the starter - a veggie pancake thing - was delicious. Waited another 40 mins for mains despite us telling the owner we were now very pushed for time. The food arrived - the Dahl was stock with rock hard uncooked lentils, the curry was just salt water with floating bits of veg, and the other main was also very undercooked. Then the card machine broke so we had to go up the road to get cash. Then we were both ill. Disaster really.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in Rusholme!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Called in a couple of weeks ago by chance. Faced with the usual dilemma of which restaurant to choose on 'the mile' - we were not disappointed. As a pescatorian and a carnivore we perused the extensive menue for a while then the owner spotting our dilemma engaged us in conversation and found out what we liked then pretty much took over. A veggie starter I had never tried before - a large crispy pancake type dish served with a spicy gravy and coconut cream (not a puri), followed by spicy fish dish done to my spec (hot, fresh herbs and full over flavour) and a spot on spicy chicken dish for my pal. Accompanied by a spinach paneer dish, the tastiest nans I have had in years, and a very enlightening chat with the owner. Can't wait to go back - definitely the best I have had in Rusholme for many years - and I have had a few!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Punjab Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punjab Tandoori Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.