We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Thomas's Chop House

Mr Thomas's Chop House
52 Cross Street, Manchester M2 7AR, England
+44 (0)161 832 2245
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr Thomas's Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #292 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Beijing
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

For us, the pluses of Mr. Thomas's Chop house: The location, the ambiance, the warmth and, most of all, the friendly and accommodating waitress. Unfortunately, the food (which was pricey) was not to our taste, and some of the portions rather small. We would definitely come here again for a drink to soak up the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodietomsmcr, Manager at Mr Thomas's Chop House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    157
    69
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable friendly staff and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The tandoori spiced monkfish is gorgeous here - it was a decent sized tail. Washed down with a lovely malbec. All of which was recommended by the staff as they are encouraged to taste the food and wine so they can help customers out. Oh and you are sitting in a little bit of historic Manchester. Highly recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodietomsmcr, Manager at Mr Thomas's Chop House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and recommendations i have passed them onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Located in the back streets between Cross St and King St, is Tom's Chop House. The door is in the corner of the building and the pub/restaurant is below ground level. So as you wal in and down the stairs the impact of this olde worlde pub leaves a positive impression.

Once inside you are struck with the sight of the life size bronze of L S Lowry at at the bar, made me smile.

The atmos and decor in the restaurant are perfect for the food served. No fancy presentation the adds £20 to the bill. The fare is robust but not clumsy, the wine list has helpful food matching notes. The food is excellent the service friendly and attentive.

I took my boss who is German for a "taste of Manchester" and he was delighted by the place and the food.

If you are fed up of formula decor and formula food give Tom's a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Comfort food & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the outside and thing it is a spit and sawdust pub, inside has been kept as traditional as possible which is very in keeping with the menu. The food is excellent, both in flavour and presentation, we had potted rabbit, oxtail and oyster salad, followed by some amazing belly pork a which was accompanied by swede and potato mash (which was better than the sum of it's parts) and corned beef hash - this was very rich and although lovely, my husband was defeated by it. Desserts were homemade ice cream which was yummy and lime zest posset.
The service was brilliant, very professional but very relaxed and friendly, we would certainly return if back in Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharron C, Manager at Mr Thomas's Chop House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Mr Thomas's and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Manhchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Take care not to double tip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It must be 40 years since I last ate here. It was OK but that's about it. My friend and I were seated promptly and served promptly. We both ordered steak and kidney pudding and both agreed that the pastry was hard, that shouldn't be the case on a suet pastry pudding. As a previous reviewer stated the filling was heavy on kidney and light on steak but that suited me. Our waitress couldn't wait to get rid of us - why? I have no idea, what harm were two middle aged women eating and chatting over lunch doing, absolutely non! We were still ordering drinks and coffee. I tipped our rather hasty waitress £5 but on checking the bill a day later realised that service had already been included. So she did rather nicely, for what was at the best mediocre service. I have placed a complaint on their web site.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Thomas's Chop House also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Mr Thomas's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Thomas's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.