We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shere Khan

Shere Khan
52 Wilmslow Road, Rusholme, Manchester M14 5TQ, England (Rusholme)
+44 161 256 2624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #521 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rusholme
Lahore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Tried Biryani at Shere Khan, it was fresh, hot and very good in taste. They prepared it according to our taste. Meal was slightly big for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    31
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this restaurant for the first time recently. When we stepped in we were very impressed on the cleanliness and decor. It is lovely and modern with co-ordinated furnishings and accessories. We usually go to the Lal Quila over the road, but a bad experience (see in my previous reviews) there made us chose another restaurant. Boy were we lucky with this one. One of our party thought their chicken dish wasn't up to scratch, and told the staff, who were very apologetic and replaced the meal immediately and without fuss. I had the Chicken Hyderabadi Biryani - and would recommend this to anyone who doesn't like their food too spicy. It was between mild and spicy. I loved it - it was delicious - especially with a korma sauce! We will most DEFINITELY go back there again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh - YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I didn't know what to expect from the infamous curry mile, however I can safely now say that if I am to return, the Shere Khan is the only restaurant I would go to.

I went on Valentine's night (the restaurant in our 5* hotel was fully booked) and arrived at the Shere Kahn which was absolutely packed. My heart sank a little, however we were seated within 5 minutes of arriving and enjoyed excellent and swift service (not too swift either).

The food was sublime. My other half had a lamb dish that was succulent and literally made from proper lamb (not reformed / processed weird lamb!). The lamb literally fell apart - it was cooked to perfection.

My sizzling dish was ace. I highly suggest everyone try the sizzling dishes. Yum.

I am so hungry even thinking about it.... I wish it was my local!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely food , constantly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

been going here for about 8 years and have always had a lovely meal there. the staff are friendly and very helpful. kid friendly too

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good restaurant on Curry Mile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Nice to have meal, wont say it was my best! Biryani??? I don't know if it was Biryani :) because it didn't look or taste like a Biryani, whatever it was, it was eatable, Lamb Handi was awesome and tasty. Aalu Paratha was actually Tandoori Roti with Potato stuffed in it :) So I wont call it Paratha.
Anyways the stuff was good, restaurant was excellent. One thing at the end of the lunch I enjoyed was the Tea with Milk!
I think Its high time that Manchester Indian restaurants starts making real Biryani's rather than just the quick fix of Rice, Lamb/Chicken, Green Peace and call it a Biryani.

In All the Restaurant was Good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shere Khan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Shere Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shere Khan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.