We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evuna

Evuna
277-279 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4EW, England
+44 (0)161 819 2752
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Evuna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited Evuna on a Saturday night a few weeks ago. Had to ring up a week or so in advance to book. There were a few walk-ins that came while we were here that were turned away as it was so busy.

Reservation was for 8pm, arrived a little early so sat at the bar and ordered some wine. Was quite busy at the time, and didn't get seated until 8.30, but the waitress was very apologetic, and kept checking in with us to make sure we were OK before hand, even giving us some complimentary olives at the bar while we were wating for our table.

The food at Evuna is really fantastic. We opted for some tapas, and got 7 dishes between two of us. The Spanish omlette and chorizo in red wine were particularly good. Also the Spanish cheescake for desert was amazing. We liked the wine we had so much, we bought a bottle to take home with us, at a very decent shop price, which was a great touch.

Even though the restaurant was very busy, the tables are a really good size, even when only seating two, which is very important for eating tapas.

Overall a great experience, and will definitely return

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    135
    36
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“LOVELY MEAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a table for Sat night at 9pm, arrived at 8.45 and had a drink at the bar first, which has a lovely atmosphere. The restaurant is quite small be nicely furnished. The staff were so attentive and pleasant. The only downside was the fact there was a party of about 20 who were so noisy it really spoilt the atmosphere of the quaint restaurant, which was not a fault of the restaurant. Food was lovely, thought the vegetable tapas could have been more plentiful, and the desert blackboard was boring and not inviting at all.

Just a small point also, considering the restaurant was so elegant and authentic I was surprised to find the Ladies wash room so primitive and basic which I feel lets the place down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Spanish feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hunted this place down after a review on a website and initially was not over impressed but it is atrue Spanish restaurant.
The service is good and not pretencious, but I said Spanish therefore not quick.
However the wait wa sworth it because my seafood paella was probably the nest I have outside Spain and to compliment this the waiting staff were all Spanish.
The only thing stopping me giving it five stars is that they did not cater very well for non alcoholic drinks, but after all it is classed as a wine specialist and they can,t please us all.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Took my wife for dinner at Evuna, we have tried to book here on numerous occasions, tonight we had great food and lovely wine. Would recommend budget for £50 per head. We had the seafood paella that was the best we have had outside Spain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'd definitely recommend this restaurant, even if you don't like tapas, as there's lots of other options.
Four of us (two couples) went here mid-week. The restaurant was very busy, and we were late taking our seats (having been delayed elsewhere). Despite that, the staff were friendly and attentive and the food was great. Portions were a good size and the food arrived promptly. Excellent wine list, as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evuna also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Evuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.