We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of This & That

This & That
3 Soap Street, Manchester M4 1EW, England
+44 (0)161 832 4971
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

this and that is a hidden gem in a little back street in manchester. they do a small selection of curries . you can choose any three curries and rice . with a choice of nan bread or chappati for a very reasonable price . it is always busy the best time to go is mid afternoon or early evening . it is used a lot by workers and students. i would not hesitate to recommend this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    70
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Am i missing something here??? i went today after reading all the incredible reviews but came out thinking i was on candid camera. It was the blandest tasting curry iv ever had and im sure he charged me wrong because he charged me £5.50 for 3 meat curries. The place is a flea pit. Was really disappointed as i wished i have gone to the chinese buffet instead, which is miles better..... avoid !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic Indian food & wonderful Manchester institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've been here many times over the years, and visited again this week after quite a while, delighted to find that it is just the same as ever and the delicious food just as reliable as ever. It looks pretty unprepossessing from the outside, and inside it's just like a little 'greasy spoon', with formica tables, but the food is sooooooo great and so ridiculously cheap! Rice and 3 curries is as much food as you can eat, the selection changes every day, and it is so far removed from the now-ubiquitous standard curries - this is really authentic grub!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been to This n That dozens of times and never been disappointed. Their lunchtime "rice and three" is awesome -- I particularly like the spinach and potatoes and the spicy keema. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First visit..can't wait to go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews and trying to find somewhere to eat that wasn't overpriced or chain food we chose This & That.

After being initially confused by the menu set-up we got our heads
round it and ordered. The choice was great, including the vegetarian option for my girlfriend. My 8 year old son enjoyed the set-up of dishes being on view and choosing from them.

The food was plentiful and delicious, and the atmosphere was great - the cafe was constantly busy.

All in all it was a relaxed and enjoyable experience and we will definitely be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed This & That also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to This & That? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage This & That, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.