This is my second time I have been to Grill on the Alley, the first time we sat downstairs which was nice and it wasn't very busy as we had an early sitting. The second time was a Monday evening, it was extremely busy and having pre- booked our table of 4 when we arrived we were told that the reservation had not been made, although a manager had a vague recollection of the booking as my sibling has an unusual name as is also a Living Venture staff member at a different restaurant. We were told we would have to wait for a table, looking around at everyone waiting it didn't look promising, after 30 minutes we nearly decided to go elsewhere however we were told it would be another 10 minutes so rather than find somewhere else we thought we would stick it out. We sat on the main floor this time and the tables are quite close together with not much space around, there was also live music which was very loud when you are trying to have a conversation. During our wait we had ordered drinks at the bar so when we got to our table there were more wine glasses and water glasses, we filled up what we needed but it took a long time for someone to clear the not needed glasses, as we didn't have much space on the table to begin with. Just a trivial thing. Our waiter was fantastic, I couldn't fault him. He was very helpful with menu choices and didn't leave us waiting too long to order etc. I would come here again but if you don't eat meat there is not a lot of choice, i realise this place is specific to specialise in steak but nowadays there is almost always a vegetarian option.The only other thing is that a couple of side dishes had been taken off the menu since the first time I came, and I had recommended them to my friend so I was a bit disappointed to be told they were no longer on the menu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grill on The Alley.
Report response as inappropriate
Please accept my apologies for the problems you had at check in and waiting for drinks.
I am glad you received good service from one of our waiters and I am glad you enjoyed the food you had.
Should you wish to come back please make your booking direct through myself and I will ensure to get you a good table and will be well looked after.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grill in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.