We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarb Restaurant - CLOSED

Rhubarb Restaurant
167 Burton Road | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 2LN, England
+44 (0)161 448 8887
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $67 - $67
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: It's not often you find the perfect neighbourhood restaurant with a stylish dining room, stellar food and friendly service ��� but Rhubarb in West Disbury, Manchester, ticks all of the boxes. With quaint window boxes, mulberry coloured feature walls and walnut chairs, the dining room is light and airy, decorated with graphic floral canvases and filled with fashionable locals and Mancurian regulars who keep coming back for the cosy ambience and convivial atmosphere. The hearty international menu at Rhubarb includes favourites such as the Porcini mushroom risotto dressed with truffle oil and Parmesan cheese; the slow-cooked lamb shank served with pumpkin and cheese mash and root vegetables; and the skate wing cooked with capers, lemon and herbs with fried potatoes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Place only small but food was very good, had food from early brid menu and there was plenty to choose from enjoyable experiance

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    26
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to Rhubarb on Saturday July 27 8 of us for a special birthday, from the moment we walked in it started to go down hill credit card machine not working ( to be fair they did phone to put us in the picture) . No draught beer or lager( gas not working )no air conditioning (not working ) food was ok service not good the bill was £300 4 starters 8 mains 4 bottles of wine even the tap water tasted weird . I did notice there was 7 empty tables may be that tells a story a good restaurant on a Saturday night would be full

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Lass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Never been here before, until friends took me for my birthday. A real find. A small menu which I always hope means that there is a cook in the back, not a microwave. Terrific ambience and really friendly relaxed service. My only suggestion would be that the veggie menu is a bit less reliant on cheese?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food great, service terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A sunny Sunday afternoon in West Didsbury and a chance to relax at Rhubarb.

That's the life of the waiting on staff at this establishment.

Excellent food marred by slow and inconsistent service. Very pleasant no doubt but a sense of urgency and priorities is badly needed.

I had the mussels and the salmon which were both first class and my dining companions both said the same about their choices.

But this restaurant badly needs someone actively managing the front of house and nipping in the bud:

1. The waitresses standing chatting around the till whilst customers wait to place orders outside.
2. Customers waiting so long for service they bring takeaway coffee from neighbouring establishments and sit openly drinking it and leaving their empty takeaway cups for the waitresses to clear away.
3. A clear sense of which customers arrived in which order and therefore should be dealt with in that order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A lovely little restaurant with amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My dinner last night was fantastic. All thanks to Rhubarb! After reading some of the reviews I was slightly worried about what to expect but I have absolutely no complaints. There was a good variety of options on the set menu (2 courses for £13.95), and the staff were very pleasant. I will definitely be going back for more of that chicken!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarb Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.