We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Place perfect for parties.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive

Olive
4 Lloyd Street, off Deansgate, Manchester M2 5AB, England
+44 (0)161 832 9090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Olive Restaurant & Bar in Manchester is a few steps off Deansgate, was voted best working lunch venue in town, but it’s great for pre-theatre and family meals too. The dining room blends rustic Italian with modern style. Think exposed brick, farmhouse furniture, cool lighting and sleek bar. Only the freshest ingredients go into the classic and innovative Italian dishes; such as handmade artisan pastas, stone-baked pizzas, lighter salads and a selection of meat and fish. We are child friendly and feature a dedicated healthy menu, make-your-own pizzas and miniature versions of any dish on the menu. Our exemplerary service is renowned throughout Manchester and we strive to ensure everyone will return time and time again.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food. Place perfect for parties.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I've been enjoying the real taste of Mediterranean in Olive - Manchester.
Is not the first time and I recommend all the menu.
In Manchester, Olive is is a spacious restaurant so is perfect for parties or celebrations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Manager at Olive, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Andreia,
Thank you for your review and we are glad to you and your party enjoyed your meal at Olive.
See you soon The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    121
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having booked by Birthday get-together for a Saturday evening and inviting 14 guests that many had never met each other before, I was worried that the booking could end up being a car crash of poor service, poor food and unhappy guests.

Well too my delight the night was more probably the best large party experiences we have ever had with fantastic polite service (with a smile), amazing food and most importantly not one member of our party have anything negative to say about the evening.

If I had any negative it would be the price of drinks as I think many restaurants can do themselves out of customers trying to charge the earth for a pint and a coke.

Well done Olive Manchester, the same level of service we received in Liverpool last month.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Manager at Olive, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your birthday meal. Best Regards The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went with my friend for lunch had very good meal, staff was very friendly although the starter (broschetta) was a bit tasteless if not I would give a 5star, defiantly will be going back again thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Manager at Olive, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your lunch. I am sorry to hear your bruschetta and we look forward to your future visits.
Best Regards The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly and excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We had planned to go to the Artisan but, in spite of it having loads of space were told it was all booked. We then found Olive and it was actually very busy but they kindly agreed to sit us in the bar. The service was fantastic and rump steak especially good. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Manager at Olive, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your first visit to Olive and your rump steak.
We look forward to your visits. The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had a nice trip to the Olive before seeing a show at the Opera. Ordered a risotto cake, veal and finished with sticky toffee pudding and all around was an exceptional meal with a wonderful wait staff. I'd definitely return if I'm ever in Manchester again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew L, Manager at Olive, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are are glad you enjoyed your first meal at Olive and your theatre trip in Manchester. See you again when your next visiting Manchester. The Olive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.