We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Olive Restaurant & Bar
4 Lloyd Street | Off Deansgate, Manchester M2 5AB, England
0161 832 2866
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Olive Restaurant & Bar in Manchester is a few steps off Deansgate, was voted best working lunch venue in town, but it’s great for pre-theatre and family meals too. The dining room blends rustic Italian with modern style. Think exposed brick, farmhouse furniture, cool lighting and sleek bar. Only the freshest ingredients go into the classic and innovative Italian dishes; such as handmade artisan pastas, stone-baked pizzas, lighter salads and a selection of meat and fish. We are child friendly and feature a dedicated healthy menu, make-your-own pizzas and miniature versions of any dish on the menu. Our exemplerary service is renowned throughout Manchester and we strive to ensure everyone will return time and time again.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here for the first time and loved it, not huge lovely and small meals are good and great value for money.

Look forward to returning

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    123
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Always great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The food, service and ambience are unpretentious. I have eaten here many times and already look forward to returning. A special place with great memories.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A group of us attended in the evening. Fairly busy on Saturday. service was slow, when the food arrived it was average some in the group were complaining their food was cold.

I have been to this restaurant on numerous previous occasions but at lunch time, at that time the restaurant is not so busy and the service is usually good.

Recommend to try at lunch time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have joined their free email members club sometime ago. This entitles you to between 25% and 40% off your food bill when you book online which is obviously very welcome. Dined on a Sunday evening which was fairly quiet as to be expected in Manchester. The food, wine, staff and service were up to their usual very good standard. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a lovely meal which was an offer for my birthday and we got one main meal free! The service was very attentive and where some restaurants rush you we had time to relax and enjoy our meal. Our table was at the window so it was light and quiet. The food was lovely however a bit expensive and the majority of meals do not come with sides. A thoroughly enjoyable evening with excellent wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.