We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo - Manchester

San Carlo - Manchester
40 - 42 Kings Street West, Manchester M3 2WY, England
+44 161 834 6226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in the hub of Manchester's King Street West, this brand-new concept restaurant is the feather in the cap of the San Carlo group's award-winning chain of Italian restaurants. A departure from the regular San Carlo formula, the dining room boasts an open, light and airy all-white space with red accents, and a stylish bar and lounge area perfect for pre/post dinner drinks. The menu is an lavish celebration of traditional seafood-led Italian cuisine, and favourite dishes include the Scallops San Carlo; Tagliatelle Monte Carlo – pasta served with sautéed shallots and diced monkfish in a creamy tomato and white wine sauce; and the traditional spiced Italian sausages cooked with Borlotti beans.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nearly excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If your looking for atmosphere and good food in by the bundle then look no further! This place has been delivering the goods for years, plus it's had a bit of a face lift. The only reason I can't give it excellent marks is because every now and again I'll get a meal that's never quite warm enough or the chicken can be overcooked. Having said that, it's never been bad enough to stop me going back time and time again. A great lunchtime or evening meal experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    490
    313
    189
    211
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Great Food and Atmosphere, but the Service can be hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What can I say, San Carlo is one of the best authentic Italian restaurants in Manchester and you can just see that from the amount of genuine Italian staff who work there.

There food is always excellent and the atmosphere is always buzzing and perfect for either a romantic meal or a big group. The waiters and hosts are always extremely pleasant and welcoming. The menu choice is to the extreme, with the the specials menu being bigger than some other restaurants main menus.

The only thing that lets this place down is sometimes it does take an awful long time to get you food. However, as the title of the review says, it is very hit and miss. Sometimes the service is flawless, other times it can be awful.. Still worth 4 stars though.. (I would put 4 and a half if I could!!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been to this restaurant with family and friends several times now and I must say that it has always been a pleasure, I love Italian food and so those most of the people I know, I usually indulge in an antipasto romano which is made of a selection of Italian salami, then for main I love the lasagna and I usually finish with an Italian desert, usually tiramisu or ice cream. The Food here is excellent and they have some really good wines, price wise is not the cheapest place but the quality makes up for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal, very generous portions for the starters, very friendly staff and great atmosphere, definitely will return and reccommend to friends. Despite the restaurant being full the service was very quick and efficient. Not the cheapest place, but worth that bit extra!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cals 21st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Superb food and service will be back again A +++++++ I had a steak main,Garlic bread starter,and a superb chocolate desert pictures off so many famous people who have eaten there

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to San Carlo - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo - Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.