We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Brasserie

Malmaison Brasserie
Piccadilly, Manchester M1 3AQ, England
+44 (0)161 278 1001
Improve this listing
Ranked #588 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $78 - $78
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cheshire UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had an excellent evening here with my girlfriend. She had fantastic ribs to start and I had the fritto misto - courgette, tiger prawns, squid etc in batter. Excellent. For main, I had turkey done 3 ways and she had the rump of lamb. My turkey was delicious and inventive and it was served with a good selection of roast veg. The lamb was perfectly cooked - only complaint was that there was too much of it. Service was very attentive and friendly. Prices not cheap but also not rediculous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    30
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We called in for Sunday lunch? Wow, all you can eat buffet starter, followed by gorgeous rib of beef, with all the trimmings and the biggest Yorkshire pudding ever seen, followed by crepe Suzette, hot chocolate for my Son and the creamiest creme brûlée for my partner. All for £19.95. Good value for money. The only downside was having to pay £9.25 for a glass of Malbec, which was very good but a tad overpriced!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Food average, bottle of prosecco at 40 PDS was outragious! Servicevavbit shambolic. Overall, a let down and at 105 PDS for 2 very poor value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced and bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited the Mal brasserie with my partner during a stay at e hotel and unfortunately, I didn't have a great experience.

I chose the 'frito misto' for my starter which was ok. Calamari, king prawns and courgette made up the dish. I decided to choose the Mal pan pasta dish for main; mozzarella, basil, chorizo, tomatoes. It was presented nicely in a little pan but clearly the chorizo hadn't been included, which I only realised near the end of the dish. I didn't have a dessert but my partner did. Again, it was presented nicely, and he did comment that it was nice. I had a black forest gateau cocktail which was fine.

As for wine, we had a drink in the bar to start with and I paid £8 for a glass of dry white wine. In the restaurant, I had another 2 glasses (same wine) and upon receiving the bill, realised they'd bumped up the price to £11 a glass. I'm not adverse to paying good money for good wine but I've honestly tasted a better bottle from a supermarket and felt a little duped by the stark difference in the price.

I wouldn't return to the brasserie; it's far too overpriced for the quality of the food and the wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reunion lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a reunion lunch for 14 people in a private room on a Friday. Service before lunch was good and the food very good, well presented and nicely served. The wine list was interesting but perhaps more expensive than it needed to be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malmaison Brasserie also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Malmaison Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.