We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Restaurant is Racist !!!! read to find out why” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific

Pacific
58-60 George Street, Manchester M1 4HF, England
(0161) 228 6668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #844 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is Racist !!!! read to find out why”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

So a lot of Chinese Restaurant`s operate two menu`s ,one is in English with dishes we know and have been brought up with in the uk with lots of e numbers in the sauce etc etc

and then there is what i call the Chinese Chinese menu , which is completely different more healthy more tasty , and bigger portions too its true , maybe not in your local Chinese but defiantly
in the better quality ones . and yes i always ask for the Chinese Chinese menu , well this restaurant refuses to print it in English !!!!!!! , when i asked why i was told that some of there older Chinese clients don't like or want it printed in English , so what the hell are they doing wanting to live in uk please check out what i say in your local Chinese you may find out your being denied more tasty healthy food , because your English ,
also this restaurant used to serve thai food upstairs but no longer does
also the service and attitude were not so hot , i confronted the owner about there racism
she seemed to think it was funny , i didnt dont think we will be goes back there
also the place is on the 2nd floor lift was not working , and the staircase was not so clean

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    21
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The food was absolute hell. So bland! Definitely avoid this place.. service was bad and took ages for my food to come. My steamed dimsum came out cold. Do not come here.. trust me, i'm chinese!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Authentic Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that the service leaves a lot to be desired, however the lunch time dim sum menu is really good.

Ate my fill with two glasses of white wine for less than £18.00.

Plenty of authentic choices and very busy even though it was a very late lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“can relate to some of the reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

came to manchester to visit friends and decided to come to pacific

i haven't been in years, but from what i remember the food is good

yes service is POOR!!!

being chinese you'd think its biased that they treat chinese customers better...well let me assure you NO!!!

we got our menu and we was waving the staff to come over, yet he was just walking about

ok, caught his attention

we ordered the 4 course chinese menu, which is £61, includes rice lobster, 4 meals from the selection and dessert and fruit

we was saying how CHEAP the menu is and it must be tiny portions, so we ordered a extra dish, so that was 6 dishes between 4 adults

food came out very quick

lobster, fort his time of the year you expect a *skinny* lobster with not much meat on, wow, for the price of £61 this lobster certainly was meaty, i eat the lobster head and it had alot of white meat on it

porkchop salad cream, big portion size, tangy flavour, never had it before, would order again

tung choi, again great portion size...no comment as its the same everywhere you go

steamed salted fish minced pork, again decent/ big portion, not too salty

typhoon shelter soft shell crab (£7 supplement), great flavour, however i didn;t like the batter they used, i would've preffered a corn flour batter


braised beef and mooli, one of the best i've had in a restaurant. this dish is a heavy dish, yet it is the first time i've had it and the flvour is light. the fat/ meat proprtion if very good, it was soft but not too soft where it collasp when you pick it up, and the mooli was just right, some green at the bottom would've been great

we had alot of leftovers!!! enough to feed another 2 people
my friend took leftovers home

bill including 10% service charge £100, with drinks as well


food- great
service- needs improving

however i'll turn a blind eye on that as the food/ price is worth coming back to eat here

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely rubbish!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited last night, and it was just so poor and overpriced. We waited to order drinks, but noone came, so we gave up and went to the bar. Then we had to ask after about 35 mins if someone could take our order. The good came out in dribs and drabs and a few starters were forgotten and when asked for the staff were rude and dismissive. The mains then arrives again in dribs and drabs and again 1 was forgotten and then the staff argued about the food which had come out and eventually went and reordered the missing dish, after clarifying 4 times what he wanted, the wrong main still was brought to the table. The staff were all so rude, especially the woman who worked behind the bar area and dealt with the bill and she appeared to be a senior member of staff!! We have all since then suffered with sickness and bad stomachs. We will definitely never be returning and will tell everyone thinking about going for Chinese in Manchester to stay well away from this place!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.