We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French

The French
The Midland Hotel | Peter Street, Manchester M60 2DS, England
+44 161 236 3333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $89 - $127
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The French strikes the perfect balance between heritage and progressive cuisine. While the restaurant is steeped in history, our current menu offers modern British food that delivers consistently excellent flavours by using the best seasonal produce and the very latest technological advances. Married seamlessly to its new contemporary direction, the breathtaking dining room of this historic restaurant encompasses both the new and old, with undeniable opulence and timeless elegance. Stepping boldly into the 21st century, The French offers outstanding levels of service, warmth and style, that in turn, create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere like no other in Manchester.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“August 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

For a special occasion this restaurant can't be faulted. The food and service is flawless, and the room looks amazing.
We went on a saturday night and got the 6 course tasting menu rather than the 10 course. At £60 a head rather than £100, I still think it represents great value - there were a couple of extra courses thrown in which were very welcome, and the whole experience took over 3/4 hours - exactly what we were looking forgiven the cost and occasion.

If I had to criticise anything I'd say the toilets - the restaurant doesn't seem to have it's own dedicated ones so you have to use the Midland's lobby toilets - these are pretty rubbish to be honest. It's almost like the second you step in to the restaurant the experience is amazing, the second you come out to go the toilet you are world's away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    86
    35
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Could not fault anything. Cannot understand why it did not get any stars this year. Food and service excellent, well worth a visit, but you need to book in advance.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a Friday night at the french with some friends. It was one of best meals we have had. We all went for the 10 course taster menu, which as other reviews have said is more like 16, including the optional cheese course. But it is not overwhelming.
We had the drinks package too, where you get a different wine with each course. I highly recommend you do this, as for us the 10 different wines made the meal. For the food and wine package it is going to set you back £160 pr so, but there is no point going to The French and doing half measures.
The service was excellent, each course was explained, each wine choice was explained and the staff where very knowledgeable. We haven't been to Manchester House, so I can't offer a comparison.
I am vegetarian, and they offer a full 10 course vegetarian menu too.
All in all, fantastic evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Master class in service and fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing evening and experience. Fantastic tasting menu (deceptive small servings but very rich and filling) which took nearly four hours to complete.

A master class in service which was impeccable - attentive but not intrusive.

Only thing we didn't like was that the piano outside was too loud and eh restaurant quite loud due to a big group - but still amazing.

One tip- share a wine package between two- we like our drink and we struggled to share it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“French VS Manchester House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Our group (6 of us) visited the French this week and had their full gastro menu around 12 courses - we did a similar thing a month or so back at Manchester House and this is our comparison.

Service - service at Manchester house was definitely better than at the French, staff missed some drink refills and forgot to bring accompanying sauces for one or two of the dishes. The staff at Manchester house are a little less formal but very very attentive and genuine.

Food - this is were I was most disappointed with the French as I was really looking forward to. The courses were all a little "samey" and the running joke across our group became - not more celeriac !!! The French dishes seemed to lack excitement, theatre and variety - which is in total contrast to that of Manchester House. The dishes there were very memorable and excellently executed and tasted amazing. At the French at least three of the dishes were far too salty.

Drinks - both restaurants had a great choice and selection of drinks at usual top end restaurant prices, have to say that French had a more reasonable selection if a little smaller.

Ambiance - Manchester house won't suit everyone's taste as it's quite industrial whereas the French is more traditional and the room is quintessentially French - the two chandeliers are amazing !!! However at the French arriving there through the midland hotel foyer has no drama and is disappointing for such a high end place, whereas arriving via lift at Manchester house has some anticipation and drama.

Overall - my main conclusion is one of disappointment with the French as I was really looking forward to it but it failed to deliver on both the food and service, whereas Manchester house exceeded my expectations on all counts - for me it's Manchester House all the way.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The French, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.