We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont have a spa day here!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
lancashire
1 review
“dont have a spa day here!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

a group of us friends had booked a day iin the spa 3 months in advance so we could all catch up spend time together, when we got there it was so unorganised the staff were just sat around the recpetion area we were left waiting in the lounge for over half an hr before we asked to be sorted out, we were not given towels or robes we had to ask 3 times for them our treatments were all staggerred throughout the day instead of the bookings we made of 2 of us at 10.30 and 3 at 11.30 1hr treatments and then we could use the spa for a few hours and leave for a nice lunch out in town, instead the treatments didnt finish until 3.30 the spa was what you get in a gym steam room sauna showers no swiming pool no jacuzzi it was not a relaxing stress free experience at all the staff were unprofessional and some rude making sarcastic comments, i would not recommend this spa to anyone there are much nicer places in manchester!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macdonald_FOH_Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Littlemissgiggles,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our Spa and that you feel our staff were unfriendly i will of course look into this further as when we spoke on the day of your visit you made no mention to me that the staff had been rude to you. I hope the discount I arranged for you was agreeable however if you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Scott Scanlon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    856
    314
    133
    58
See reviews for
160
944
101
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My partner & I stayed, along with parents for 1 night over the weekend visiting our nephew who is at Uni. We arrived very early 9am and left our bags. When returning after 2pm our rooms (City View x 2) were not ready. We accepted complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited and we were offered a free upgrade for 1 room which I gave to our parents, for the inconvenience of waiting. The reception staff could not have been more apologetic and helpful. Both our rooms were lovely, theirs larger than ours, with huge bathrooms with separate shower and bath. One gripe for us there were no details in the room of when breakfast was served or when the restaurant and spa were open, but one call to reception answered our queries. The hotel is so convenient for the station with a walk into the town centre of about 10mins. Wonderful staff, wonderful breakfast and first class service - we are definately choosing to stay here again in future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The room was not just large - it was huge. Instead of just jumping onto the bed (what, you don't do that first when you check in?) you could do a few cartwheels first. No free wifi, but you can get a free cable to connect to the hotel network. Room on the 7th floor with a great view over the city. No windows to open, but that might have been too noisy anyway as the hotel is next to a busy street, but adequately soundproofed. The bathroom is also quite large, with separate shower cabin and full bath. Breakfast is excellent and there's actually staff on duty to serve you fresh coffee/thee, unlike the usual sterile buffet layout. The hotel is hardly a minute away from the railway station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were due to arrive at 4pm (as I had concert tickets booked for 5pm) however it took us over 30 mins to find the hotel car park to check in so we where a bit stressed and worried. Although thanks to our satnav and a bit of common sense we eventually found it around the back of the hotel which you had to go down a few one way streets to discover.
Once we eventually arrived our stay at the hotel was fantastic. The bathroom as very nice with a separate bath and shower and the bedroom was quiet a nice size with a king size bed, best nights sleep I have ever had!
Although the staff where very polite I found them very false as if they had been told that they had to say certain things, maybe a little over rehearsed? I have never found before at the MacDonald Hotels, normally they go above and beyond the call of duty?
The hotel is a 10 min walk to the Apollo theatre. We ate in the restaurant which was very nice food although the breakfast basket to the room wasn’t anything to write home about, and they only delivered for one person so we had to share breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife for a weekend shopping trip. Check in was quick but my wife thought it uninformative [ no info on layout, times of breakfast etc.]. Room was excellent we had a room on the 5th floor with city view, a large spotlessly clean room with panoramic window and a great bathroom with large shower and seperate bath. I thought the speaker in the bathroom ceiling was a nice touch [you can listen to the news while shaving]. We both slept well on the comfortable bed before going down for breakfast which was the usual buffet setup but the quality of food was excellent. On the negative side as we left the restaurant there was a large queque of people waiting to be seated but because of the layout of the room [you have to walk past the kitchen and food to reach the seating area] I dont how they can improve this it was certainly no fault of the maitre d [Matt who was enthusiastic and efficient. Management take note.] We had dinner in the evening as well, again the food and service was good but I was dissapointed that they had run out of the lamb so early [8pm] as the restaurant didn't seem that busy. The hotel is located a 10min walk to the central area and shops which if you haven't been to Manchester before are excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England UK
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels (see contributions) and this hotel was very good.

The hotel is literally seconds from Picadilly Rail Station. We had a great room on the 2nd floor. Bathroom excellent, the shower was great.

We paid £10 each, £20 in total for breakfast;

1) The queue was so big we were late for a function that we were attending
2) We complained but they still took the payment for the breakfast (not had this treatment before at a premium hotel).

I think apart from the dissapointment with breakfast, I would say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, in Manchester.

We are thinking of re-booking but the breakfast experience is making us think twice.

Overall though, potential to be a great great hotel - it has a very nice feel to the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Me and my partner stayed recently for only one night on our way home from the lake district, the Hotel was ideal as its right next to manchesters main train stration! We decided to stay at the macdonald as the prices were reasonable and it included breakfast and we just wanted to explore the city and there is plenty to do, as the nice gentleman at reception was keen to point out as he gave us a map and sent us on our way!
We had a great stay! The rooms were clean, the food at breakfast was fresh and there was plenty on options to choose from, the staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome! The young lady who checked us out was called jennifer, she was very friendly and was keen to hear about our trip, we found her very helpful as when we told her about our trip and how we like to travel she recommended we join the hotels loyalty club so we can collect points if we ever stay again in manchester or at any of the hotels sister hotels! So we did! The only let down to the hotel was the service in the restaurant, we found it very busy in the morning and we waited 15 minutes for coffee! Something I do feel can be changed! Also the rooms were quite stuffy but once the air-con was turned on from reception it seemed a little better! Overall we had a great stay and we will definitely return to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#23 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#38 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.