We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for one evening in June. One of the first things we noticed was how long it took for the lifts to become available to us; they were few and incredibly slow. And when we finally got to our room, we immediately noticed that all of the surfaces in the room were covered with dust, like it hadn't been properly cleaned in quite some time. The staff seemed professional enough, but that was the only highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Derek,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I'm as disappointed as you that we failed to delight you on this occasion. As you will know I've asked you for some further detail if you would be so kind so that I can understand the issues and improve matters going forward.

Thank you once again as your feedback is really important to us but most importantly thanks for highlighting that the staff were friendly and helpful.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    992
    381
    162
    74
See reviews for
211
1,124
116
634
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the macdonald hotel for the Rod Stewart concert at the men arena. Rooms were spacious, but there was lack of draw space and a few stains on the carpet but nothing to worry about. The lifts were a problem on the first night as there were a lot of people in the hotel and only one lift working and we were on the sixth floor so I didn't fancy the climb. The breakfast was excellent, waitress service for drinks and toast then help yourself to fruit, pastries, cereals and a lovely cooked buffet to choose from. It is only a minute from the train station, although a good twenty minutes to the men arena, overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel which we were glad about as the hotel is on a busy dual carriageway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Julie,

Many thanks for your kind comments they are appreciated. For what we did well I can only thank you for however it is the areas of opportunity that I'm most interested in as we like to think we deliver consistently great stays for guests and so when we see the chance for the team to improve we use it as a springboard towards even better delivery.

Please be assured that we are on a mission of ever improvement and we would be delighted to see you back here soon so that we can show you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for a conference, meeting rooms/facilities and restaurant all fantastic, extremely helpful staff, even the gent from your taxi company at the door helped me with bags and opened taxi door, overall a fantastic service.
Would recommend you without hesitation.

Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thanks so much for your kind review and for highlighting that the interaction that our team and taxi company had with you made for a memorable experience.

Great to read that we really looked after you and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here on Sat for concert and have to say it's one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The service was fantastic. The walk in shower totally amazing the best shower I have ever had!!!
The Hotel as a whole was lovely will defininately stay again.

Room Tip: Great location for Piccadilly Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Chun88,

Thank you for all your praise and kind words about our team and this great hotel. They are appreciated and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels for business purposes and few impress me. This one did.

Checkin was quick and easy, the room was clean and spacious.

The restaurant was very good with a high level of customer service, well trained staff that seemed to care .. and the food was very good.

I know this should be standard in hotels .. but it isn't .. and this hotel stood out as being superb in a sea of mediocrity.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear CustomerConsultant,

Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated and as someone in the field of customer care it was especially pleasing to read that the team are doing a great job in delivering our hotel in a manner guests recognise as excellent.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary and I have to say we were shocked at the rooms they were fantastic as we're the staff.... We enjoyed a beautiful meal and the restaurant manager couldn't have been nicer... Overall our anniversary was perfect thank you so much regards mr & mrs Tindall

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Tindall,

Thanks so much for a really nice review it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your return.

I will pass on your very kind comments to Marco and The Restaurant team for a job well done.

All the very best

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the weekend while attending a concert at MEN. It was lovely. Nice room. Tea and coffee, iron etc in room. Good room Service if required. Good secure car park. Ideal location. Nice Staff. Spa and Gym looked good, I didnt use so cant comment. Excellent location for concerts, shops etc. Excellent breakfast. Lots of choice. Lovely, Friendly Staff. Hope to return in the4 near future.

Room Tip: We were on first floor. Lovely walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Carolyn,

Thank you for the very kind review about our great hotel and fab team it is appreciated and says all that we would want to be said about what we do and how.

It goes without saying that we'd be delighted to see you back here very soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.