We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spent two nights for a meeting at Manchester University, which starts just across the road and it's just 2 minutes walk from Picadilly Station.
Staff were courteous and welcoming.
Room was large with windows the whole length of the room (betraying the origins of the building as a BT office block), spotlessly clean. Bathroom had both bath and separate walk-in shower. No drawers or shelves in the room, so nowhere to put shirts. There's a good TV, but it's a little small for the size of the room.
Only meal I had was breakfast on one day, which was quite a bargain when I pre-booked at 10 GBP. Good extensive buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    856
    314
    133
    58
See reviews for
160
944
101
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south east, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night 17-11-2012. Lovely hotel fabulous location with limited secure parking.
Room was large view of the city. Excellent standard could of been slightly cleaner as when the sun hit the windows they were covered in hand prints/ slight dust.
A few minutes walk from the station. Staff friendly and attentive, breakfast £15 each if pre booked- good selection.
Ex hotel will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here recently for work and found the hotel very good. The friendly welcome given on reception was replicated by the bar staff and the staff on duty at breakfast the following morning. My room was very spacious with a lovely bathroom with a separate shower (no horrible shower curtains here). I found it all clean,comfortable and welcoming. Yes, I had a view overlooking Picadilly station but no noise so no problem.
Breakfast was really super with a very good selection. I particularly liked that the greeter remembered my name and ensured that my 3 colleagues were shown to the same table so we could breakfast together - possibly a small thing but unusual in my experience.
Would be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very big, confortable and quiet. The only cons is the TV that is too smal and hard to see from the bed.
The Breakfast is fantastic.

Depending on the room that you get, you have to face long corridors to get to your room...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend. The hotel is in a great location right next to picadilly station and a 5 minute walk to the centre. The rooms were very nice and the food was good. The thing that let it down for me was the spa. We paid for a deal for room, meals and spa with champagne and 1 hour treatment. We weren't given any champagne until we complained and by that time we had to drive home. We weren't given a robe and slippers which made moving around the spa and leisure area awkward. My wife was also given a hand towel instead of a bath towel. All of these were minor things, what really annoyed us was the feeling of being cheated. we arranged to have massages at different times as they were busy and we arrived early as instructed where we both had to wait while we filled out a form. The massage was due to start at half past and we were both still waiting ( fully clothed, no robe) at twenty to. We were then taken in and told to undress and wait on the table. We were both left over 5 minutes and so it was after quarter to before it started. The massage was ok but probably one of the worst I have had in a hotel. At the end we were told to relax while they fetched water. This seemed like 5-10 minutes and when I was dressed it was just after half past. Therefore our massage we paid an hour for lasted 40 minutes approx. The fact the same procedure happened to us both independently made it obvious this was a commonly used ploy to save them either money or effort.
To conclude the hotel was good but I would definitely avoid the spa!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is little bit out of it....on slip road close to manchester ring road...but next to Piccadilly station...2 min walk. I felt as though it was not close to any decent bars etc. Room was big enough and clean....only gripe was telly was very small and could hardly watch or hear it from the bed. Ate in steak house at night...was fine, wine expensive. Have stayed at a few hotels in Manchester...this would not top my list but is above average if you get it at the right price. If you are driving, the entrance to carpark is at the back and not very easy to find....drive along the side road past the train station and turn sharp right to get in.....I used nearby carpark at 6 quid a night...much cheaper than hotel one. As someone else pointed out....charge you for everything, including 4 quid to pay by credit card.

Room Tip: Was facing front road...but had no noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a super room but with a view overlooking Piccadilly Railway Station! Superbly furnished, great bed, good furniture. I was at a conference. The food was OK nothing special. It was Friday night and the place was swarming with early 20's staying for a night in the city. The bar tried to revert to room service at 11.30pm. But we're encouraged to continue serving residents. Breakfast was OK. The spa was in another building! Conference facility good. I would only use for business.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#23 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#38 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.