We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, lovely modern rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
York UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, lovely modern rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went to see Robbie Williams at nearby Etihad Stadium, so booked 2 rooms for one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and great to get parking in a city centre hotel, although spaces were limited.
Rooms were bright, modern and clean with plenty of space.
10 minute walk to the fabulous shops and 10 minutes on the metro to the stadium so great location.
The only negative was on the Saturday morning we had a 20 minute wait for a table at breakfast and when we were finally called to our table there was hardly any of the cooked breakfast options left in the dishes. We were a party of 4 and there were other guests behind us in the que for cooked breakfast who were greeted with the same lack of choice.
We went down for breakfast at 10:15 and breakfast is advertised as being available until 11am so this was disappointing considering the extra cost of the breakfast.
In the end it was not a massive problem for our party as there were other choices available and it did not spoil a fab trip.
But if the same thing is happening during the week when it is being used by business travellers who are on tight schedules, the wait and failure to keep the dishes topped up might put them off return visits.
Overall a great stay slightly let down by breakfast organisation but would definately use the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Julian Darnley,

Thank-you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent Doubletree by Hilton experience.

We're thrilled that you had a great time at the concert and enjoyed our modern rooms, great location and friendly staff. We're sorry to hear about your breakfast experience during the busy concert weekend and your comments have been forwarded to our breakfast manager.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us so if you would to like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at sean.walsh2@hilton.com

Best Regards,
Sean Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    833
    232
    59
    19
See reviews for
185
1,003
212
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and stayed at the Doubletree for 1 night when we were in Manchester for the Robbie Williams concert.

We booked in January so got a good deal (£93 including breakfast ) in comparison to the prices for other hotels at the same time.

We arrived by train earlier than the check-in time but were able to leave our bag and this was organised very quickly.

The hotel is literally a couple of minutes walk from Piccadilly station and about 10 minutes from the Arndale Centre and even closer to the main city centre area.

A really warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff and the warm cookie was a real treat and very unique!

The room we had was on the 6th floor and it was very quiet. It was decorated nicely (modern) and the iMac was a good point. The bathroom was nice and clean and the toiletries were lovely.

The bed was quite comfortable and the complimentary water in the fridge was a nice touch. The tea and coffee making facilities wetter adequate.

The breakfast was fantastic, a good choice of cooked items, toast, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and more. We had poached eggs cooked to order too. We were very full for most of the day!

A lovely hotel with good staff and a brilliant location, I would recommend and would love to say again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here several times. Service is always good. Rooms clean, spacious and modern with apple computer/tv in room and no charge for Internet. Location is perfect for station and short walk from city centre shops and restaurants. Despite location rooms are quiet. Breakfast is good as is free cookie you get on arrival!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night after a concert. Paid £174 for a very bland boring room which didn't include breakfast. Room was ok but a premier inn would have been just as good without the ridiculous price tag.
Yes there was everything you need including an IMAC tv, but being a Hilton I would have expected it to be a little bit more luxurious that what it was.
Perfect for the business user but not for leisure.
Would I go back - not at that price not worth it.

Room Tip: We had a high room opposite a big neon sign. Had to tuck the curtain in to stop seeing flashing all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyrefail, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

warm welcome, great time, would stay again.we went to the robbie williams concert and stayed in the double tree hilton,location was fine and had no trouble with transport.we,d booked originally for two nights but had to cancell one on the fact we were coming back from our holidays.(mixed dates up)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

All and more than I could have wished for. My whole family commented on the quality being so high at DoubleTree in Manchester. It helped a long way to the perfect weekend break. The breakfast was awesome, I didn't eat again all day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benidorm
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

terrific location right next door to piccadilly station
would recommend a high floor to nullify the noise from the trams
friendly staff with good quality breakfast available
ideal for a short break in city centre
quite discreet hotel easy to walk past without noticing
could maybe have a more prominent sign

Room Tip: high floors for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.