We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here as the comfort and service provided is great. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and provides all of the amenities you'll need for a business trip.

The quality of food delivered to your room is great and the restaurant also offers some interesting dishes. Really enjoyed breakfast as there was a lot to choose from, gets you going for a busy day ahead.

The staff are always friendly and warming, will always say hello, wish your good morning and goodnight etc.

Location is perfect for rail travel, just a 5 minute walk to Manchester Piccadilly. If you are looking to eat outside the hotel there is also a lot to choose from nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jamb09,

Thank you for your review.

I will of course share your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    830
    230
    59
    19
See reviews for
183
998
212
591
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Pretty standard but free wifi is a BIG bonus. rooms could be warmer and try to avoid those rooms that hang over the tramway - can get noisy. just a work stay for one night. it's in Manchester (I'm filling the character minimum!) and it's near Picadilly station which is good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to read you had an enjoyable visit and enjoyed Free Wireless Internet.

Any requests, prior to arrival can be emailed directly to the hotel, MANPD.info@hilton.com or myself directly, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com. Honouring such requests is a priority for us to ensure 100% Guest Satisfaction.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel seems to be pretty new with nice rooms. Service is good and the breakfast are good.
Location in Manchester is very good just across from the Piccadilly train station.
The hotel have parking in the basement for 15 pounds per day.
I did miss a mini bar and a pool to make the visit perfect. Also I would not recommend Manchester but that can't really be blamed on the hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor. It is pleasing to read that you had such an enjoyable stay - I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy the city.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I bought my boyfriend and I a weekend in this hotel for his birthday, and other than being very picky we couldn't find anything wrong with it. In such a great location, close to town and Piccadilly train station. In the rooms your given your own robes and a mac to play with that doubles as your TV. The room had all the basic provisions that you would need for a weekend away, tea and coffee, an iron, lots of plug sockets, room service available (at a cost). The bathroom was also lovely and clean. The only problem that we found was that at night you could hear bottle bins being emptied asif they were being emptied into our room, it was very loud and happened a few times a night, not the hotels fault but a little off putting. When we stay here again we will be asking for a room in a different location. Apart from that a lovely hotel and staff. We didn't actually use the hotels gym, pool or spa as we had other plans for our weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear 93_Advisor,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read your stay was so enjoyable.

Please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance - I will address this immediately.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has everything you need for a city break. The rooms are clean, the media centre is good and the location is fantastic.

The breakfast was average, we went down half and hour before it finished but they had run out of jam, ketchup, fruit, and if you wanted your plate taking away then forget it you had to put it on the table next to you....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you had an enjoyable visit and have shared your experiences with our Breakfast Manager, I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonOF
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is ideally located in Manchester. I upgraded to a suite which had great views over the city. As I am a Gold card holder, I was looked after well. A nicely stocked free mini bar and an additional bottle of wine bought to my room. The breakfast in the morning was good. Oh, the warm cookie when you check in is a great tough.

All great - a bit pricey and sometimes more expensive than the Hilton!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

I am so pleased to learn we looked after you so well - we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for just one night. We had to call housekeeping as we had no tea or coffee on arrival but this arrived very quickly. The room was more than adequate for our needs, clean and pleasant although our view of the dirty canal left a lot to be desired. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but felt that breakfast was expensive at approx £16 per head. The complimentary use of the Apple mac in the room was very useful. We did not use any of the leisure facilities.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and our wish was fullfilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is great to learn you had an enjoyable visit and I do apologise for the view -

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#13 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.