We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly staff, nice clean room although quite small.
For the price it did the job - I paid £60 for a Friday night.
The negative are the fact it's 2 single beds pushed together rather than a double bed. And although the location is good for getting around it's quite dirty and scummy directly outside the hotel

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    721
    311
    100
    43
See reviews for
125
588
100
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were taking in a concert on a Friday and decided to make a night of it and stay over in Manchester. We picked the Mercure largely because it was so cheap - £56 for the room for the night and it's the value for money aspect that allows me to rate it as very good because there were some negative aspects.

Walking into the hotel is a strange experience as the foyer seems to double as a tourist office. Men working on the doors made the whole place look untidy and my first though was "oh dear, perhaps this was a mistake".

Reception is up on the second floor - trying to catch a lift isn't easy as they always seemed to be full! Having got to reception checking in was very quick and professional. A request from me that was slightly out of the ordinary was no problem at all and I was offered a choice of room - this was getting better.

The room was fine for one night. A reasonable size, but as someone else has commented the bed does take up much of the space. I thought is was absolutley acceptable for the price. The main room was decorated OK, the windows were very shabby though, as was much of the woodwork on the doorframes, seemingly a little rotten and in need of replacing. The room door looked like it had perhaps been forced at some time as the jamb by the handle was gouged out. The safe was also in disrepair, but did just about work. The bathroom was a little tired and I had to hunt for a second towel (which was in the wardrobe).

Free wifi was great.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food.

This perhaps sounds a little negative, but the overall experience was very good for the money.

One thing I was a little miffed about was the car parking. I had phoned to see how much it cost and the recorded message said £20. I parked in an NCP which was only a short walk and cost £15. On checkout I was told that it was also £15 to park at the hotel - if I'd known that I could have saved my self the walk!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was pleasant the bed was massive and very comfy. The room itself however is in need of a revamp. There was a screw on the floor in the bathroom (not sure where it was from!!). You could almost see out into the corridor through the old wood adjacent to the door lock.
Reception staff were very friendly though. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Reception was busy on check-in, but the staff were polite and efficient. There were some positives at this hotel, but it just falls short of being very good. My room was dominated by a large bed, but it was two singles together (rather than a double) so there was that uncomfortable strip down the middle and it left very little space in the rest of the room. The bathroom was a good size, but it had seen better days and looked a bit grubby. There were paint flakes on the floor from the rotted bottom of the door frame. The bathroom was cleaned well, after my first night, but the paint flakes were not vacuumed up. There is a nice little gym with new equipment and the position for city centre is excellent.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was spot on in that it was central to Manchester and we could take in the city without getting taxis every where.
The room was clean,a massive bed and tick all of the boxes, also we had a great view over Piccadilly.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mark E

Thank you very much for your review.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your room was to your liking with all the facilities to make your stay a comfortable one. As you say, our location could not be better to explore all that Manchester has to offer.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I truly hope that some time in the future we may the opportunity to look after you again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A return visit to the Mercure, but this time there were no upgraded rooms available so I ended up with a tatty, dreary room at the rear of the hotel. The room was bitterly cold - and not at all clean (long black hairs in the bath - urrrggh - and dirty finger prints all over the mirror. The stale stench of cooked food emanating from the bathroom air vent was revolting.

Unless you can be guaranteed a decent room,avoid this hotel at all costs, I'd suggest.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1235
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear hadleymike

Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to hear that you have gone away feeling disappointed with your stay with us on this occasion.

My apologies for the cleanliness issues you encountered. My Head Housekeeper has been given sight of your review and your feedback will be addressed accordingly. I am aware that you have stayed with us previously and I do sincerely hope that you will agree with me, that what you experienced on this occasion is certainly not the usual standard we pride ourselves on.

Although I see your disappointment on this occasion, I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again and at that time, provide you with an overall pleasant experience as per your previous visits.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is the second time I've stayed here and, since my stay 2 years ago the hotel has gone downhill.

The rooms (I was in 1022) are in need of a full refurb.

I would expect, considering it is a 4* hotel, for the windows to close properly, the window recess to be clean and a bit more than a travel kettle! The TV didn't work properly (sound was distorted) and wasn't HD.... Not a big issue, but not 4* quality.

Reception staff didn't seem overly professional, but we're friendly enough.

The bed, which is certainly an important aspect of a hotel room was OK, but all 4 pillows were marked.

I will not stay here again when I come to Manchester.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Olly W

Thank you for your feedback.

I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I understand that you did have a conversation with my Reception Manger on check out but would like to take the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. With this in mind, if you have a few minutes to spare, if you could please contact my Customer Services Supervisor, Kasia, I would be most grateful. Kasia can be contacted directly at the hotel, or alternatively by email kasia.kaminska@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.