We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressively Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Impressively Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I haven't stayed here for 10 years - only booking due to fact I had loyalty points to redeem - I was impressed. Yes it's a carbuncle from outside but everything within is great, and most especially the service. I stayed in a suite, but only due to my gold Accor membership and an upgrade. It was superb. I like views - and these we're out of this world. My three main "must haves" : cleanliness, good shower and great breakfast. Staff service is a bonus. It ticked all boxes. So ignore it's weird off street entrance, ignore the concrete tower, and go - you'll be pleased you did (note the prime location is a super-bonus!!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I therefore thank you for sharing your most constructive feedback. I was delighted to hear that after a 10 year gap, you were impressively surprised with how the Hotel has moved on and it will indeed give me great pleasure to share your feedback with the team. Please don't leave it that long again ... we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again so much sooner.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    634
    276
    87
    38
See reviews for
114
501
87
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

we stayed for 1 night towards end of march for a concert at manchester arena, first thing is the hotel is very well located pretty much right in the centre so easy to get to pretty much anywhere from the hotel, and even a tram stop just round the corner. we stopped in a privelege room which was nice and spacious and comfortable. there is a car park right on the hotel, but we travelled by train so didn't use it. we didn't use the bar or restaurant so can't comment on that, but all the staff at check in and any we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. as it was just a one night stay we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but when we come to manchester again we will definitely look at staying here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of our Hotel following your one night stay with us. Indeed our prime City Centre location is extremely popular with our guests for getting out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer. Our privileges rooms are very popular with our guests and I am pleased that the room allocated to you offered you all the amenities you needed for a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed Easter weekend and found this Hotel to be in a really good central location. All previous positive reviews about this Hotel I found to be correct and for an average of £60 per room per night amounted to great value for money. I will stay again at this Hotel when in Manchester.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review following your break with us over Easter; it is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again as and when you next have cause to visit Manchester.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend the Mercure to any one travelling to Manchester. The breakfast was excellent, the staff really polite and helpful. They kept the breakfast area clean and the food well stocked. There were smashing views overlooking Piccadilly Gardens and the wheel from the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble, from placing people by the window to helping families with high chairs. The room was clean and adequate for two nights. The room was a little small (but it is a city centre hotel) but had everything such as flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron, kettle, safe, adequate lighting. The windows are secondary glazed so outside noise not too much of a problem but we did have noisy neighbours shouting on their mobile phones. The bathroom needs upgrading as the tiles were cracked and showed signs of wear and tear. However, the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Reception staff were again quick, professional and helpful. The location was very central from the coach station and right by the tram stops. The Arndale shopping centre was a few steps away. The Printworks centre has all the up to date restaurants including Tiger Tiger, the Hard Rock cafe, IMAX, pubs and clubs, with the cathedral, football museum and Manchester arena nearby. These are all within walking distance from the hotel. Manchester has many shops (Harvey Nicks, Vivienne Westwood, Selfridges) pubs, restaurants selling food from all over the world from Greek, Chinese to Armenian. There are all the usual chains such as Frankie and Bennys, Slug and Lettuce, All Bar One etc. There are plenty of SPAR, Tesco metro dotted about to stock up on snacks. I found many places to visit such as the town hall, art gallery and the science museum which are all linked by a free bus that rides round all day. All in all a great trip.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room if you can as the standard rooms are a little on the small side - personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I am pleased that we formed a convenient base for your visit to Manchester. We are indeed very fortunate to be located in walking distance of all that Manchester has to offer. Many thanks for your recommendation too and I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the Mercure with a friend recently and found it a really nice hotel to stay at. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities were excellent too. Ideal location for a night out in manchester

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your time with us. On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent central location, fab view from our room overlooking Piccadilly Gardens and the Wheel. Breakfast was lovely again with views overlooking Piccadilly Gardens.Very comfy bed and pillows! All staff were very friendly throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Lovely views overlooking Piccadilly Gardens and the Wheel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests and the views from our bedrooms, particularly on a clear day, are fantastic.

We do hope as and when you next get the opportunity to have a night away, the team at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel may have the pleasure of looking after you once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice and cant fault the overall customer service. The staff really look after the guest. Nice welcome from the checkin lady who was so helpful with directions. Hotel bedroom was good had everything that was needed. Breakfast was very nice and had a very nice eggs Benedict cooked fresh for me. Would recommend this hotel for very good city centre location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had another great stay with us. Many thanks for sharing your experience and for your recommendation too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, ARTS Brasserie is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.