We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Bristol, S Glos
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Value and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for one night with my son who had a drama audion early the next day.
Well located with easy access by car to a second floor car park and reception.
Very attentive service at check in and out by Maryenn - room was small but clean and bed comfy
Shame that the people in the next room returning from a night out at 3.45am kept me awake for an hour.
Good value at £45 and £15 for parking - would use again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Piccadilly Gardens would have good views (we were the other side!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with your son recently; it really is appreciated.

Unfortunately on occasions you do find some guests are not as considerate as others and make a nuisance of themselves to other guests. Should a situation be brought to our attention, then the team are trained and instructed to deal with such matters swiftly and bring any situation to a satisfactory conclusion for all concerned. My apologies that you came across such a situation on this occasion and you encountered the disturbance that you did.

Many thanks once again for your review and trust that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    727
    313
    101
    44
See reviews for
126
594
102
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location for seeing Manchester. No more than 15 minutes from anything. Just around the corner from Chinatown, and 10 mins from Piccadilly station. We booked a superior double on Booking.com and got a really good price. We were really pleased with the room. It was on 5th floor and really spacious, even had a sofa and free movies as it was an executive room.The room was spotless and the bathroom is a really good size. It could have been a bit noisy but it's city center hotel so it is bound to be. We always take earplugs so had no problems at all. We were able to leave our bags early on the day of check in and left them till later when we checked out. As we had pre-paid we could just express check out. All the staff we dealt with were lovely and we had a great stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We found a lovely Thai restaurant around the corner in China town called Try Thai. Excellent value e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for sharing your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel; it really is appreciated. I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay and I will certainly take the opportunity to share your kind feedback with the whole team.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Booked 2 rooms as kids going to see Justin Beiber and didnt fancy a drive home late at night.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Heard no noise from traffic outside or from other guests in Hotel.
The hotel staff were really nice and helpfully even the maintance man who stopped to help when we couldnt get the room door open.

Really good stay for the price we paid we didnt expect what we got.

Thanks again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations when you stayed with us this weekend following your visit to the Manchester to watch Justin Beiber; I trust you and your family had a great time at the concert.

Thank you for sharing your experience and I do hope on a future occasion when you have accommodation requirements in Manchester, you will choose the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for one night to go out in Manchester and go to the theatre. We only paid £45 for the room so we weren't expecting much. I am originally from Manchester and so I am fully aware of how ugly this building is. However when in a hotel you're not looking at it from the outside. It sits right in the heart of Manchester in Piccadilly Gardens, 5 mins walk from the station and less from the shops and The Northern Quarter's cool nightlife. As such we could keep popping back to change and freshen up. Inside the hotel it has relatively recently been updated. The entrance and reception areas are nice and the staff helpful, pleasant and attentive. The room was a little on the small side with old condensation soaked windows with secondary glazing the ruins what would have been an amazing view. That said the glazing cut most of the noise from the trams out and kept the room nice and temperate with the air conditioning. The room was tidy, clean, modern and well appointed. To be honest higher than expectations. The bathroom was good except for one annoyance in that the shower was just far too low. I am 5'10" and the shower head was level with my nose! Overall I would definitely stay again at this price. The niggles I've mentioned are just that, small improvements. It was comfortable, convenient and quiet.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I do hope on a future visit to the City, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here ahead of a business meeting and wasn't expecting much but I was pleasantly surprised. The most difficult thing about this hotel is getting there by car and defeating the one way system. However staff throughout the hotel at every point were friendly and helpful. The main bar/ reception/ lounge/ breakfast area was spacious and caters for most needs. Sat and watched the football- had a snack- had a good breakfast- did some work- made some calls
Bed was very comfortable but room stayed chilly no matter what attempts were made to heat it up
Nevertheless got a rate of £52 for one night including breakfast so it was fantastic value and yes I would stay again for a one night stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review following your stay with us ahead of your business meeting.

I was pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us and that you would stay with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

my partner and i picked this hotel after staying at a mercure in nottingham, on arrival entered hotel to find location for parking, staff speaking in broking english on desk, not great on directions decided to park at the double tree hilton and wak to the hotel. on returning to the hotel at 1.45 told to early to check in for 2pm. so were ask to leave our bags and return at 2pm. on doing this we returned to a long check in queue. staff seemed under pressure, although very friendly and apologetic about the wait. got into room for about 2.45 room lovely very clean. lifts a little annoying only to go to 5th floor lifts only holding maybe 4 people with baggage. breakfast next day was £7.50 per person buffet style,not lots of choice, not brilliant but did the job for the price seating area clean, good views, waiting staff very friendly efficient. did prefer the mecure in nottingham but for what we payed location was the best bit about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations to the full. All feedback from whatever media is used constructively, so I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Many thanks once again and I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.