We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, central 3 Star. Highly recommend for budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
liverpool
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, central 3 Star. Highly recommend for budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Manchester and Liverpool get to charge unbelievable prices for mediocre accomodation. I hit lucky using Trivago (search engine). I thought the staff were very good. The bar has a great view. But this is a business hotel not a tourist attraction by any means. I would not pay more than an average of £60 per night

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel following your stay with us; it really is appreciated. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are ever thinking of visiting Manchester again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    632
    274
    86
    38
See reviews for
114
499
87
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this hotel. The staff are absolutely fantastic, especially the greeters in the restaurant at breakfast. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of quality items and hot food is indeed hot.

The rooms are comfortable, not overly large but adequate. They are kept spotlessly clean and are fully equipped. The baths are very big and there was always lots of hot water and good fluffy towels.

Soundproofing is not great as we were able to hear the conversations of our neighbours next door.

Another thing, someone set off the Fire Alarm and its a long way down from the 12th floor to the street. Whilst the upper rooms have great views, anyone with mobility difficulties should bear this in mind.

Car-parking on the premises is reasonably priced for a city centre hotel.

In all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay in this city centre hotel and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Guest feedback is extremely important to us and therefore I thank you for posting your review of our hotel following your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had an excellent weekend break with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was in town for a conference and picked this hotel based on the ACCOR Brand and location. I found it very staifactiory. LOcated in the center of things right next to the Toursit Office.

Manchester is a revitalized good looking city. I wish I had more time to explore.


  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review folllowing your stay with us. As you have mentioned, the hotel's location couldn't be in a better spot for exploring all that Manchester has to offer. I do hope that when you have more time to explore the City, you will choose to stay with us again. With this in mind, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were surprised by the standard of this hotel after staying at Mercures elsewhere. The staff were very helpful although somertimes didn't fully understand what we wanted especially when it came to parking. Finding the hotel car park is a bit tricky thanks to sat nav we managed. Parking is on the second floor and involves driving around the side of the hotel following the one way system. On arrival we found our room very comfortable especially the large bed. Some road noise as only secondary double glazing. Free wi fi on the 3 rd floor in the bar restaurant area. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed our meals very much. We seemed to be attended to by several different staff as opposed to one which seems the norm during service. As a base for central Manchester the hotel catered for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you chose to stay with us and you found our central location catered for all your needs. On a future visit to Manchster, I do hope that we will have the pleaure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I travelled to manchester for a leisure trip and found the Mercure through the internet. After checking reviews it was decided we would go for this hotel and what a good choice. The mercure is a large hotel situated in the centre of manchester right next to the tram station and bus terminus and located only 5 mins walk from manchester piccadilly station. Reception was on the 2nd floor and was expertly dealt with by the gentleman on the desk. Our twin room was on the 10th floor and was not big but big enough for us for our 2 night stay. There was the usual complimentary tea/coffe tray (needed more than 2 teabags i felt) and it was ensuite as well. Only downside was that we could not open the windows (health and safety i presume) so the room did sufferw ith condensation. We did not use the resturant but did use the bar which was lovely and okay price wise, just what you would expect in a city centre hotel. All in all a lovely hotel which is well situated and i will use again to visit manchester

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel following your stay with us; it really is appreciated. I was delighted to hear that on a future trip to Manchester, you will consider staying with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as we had tickets to go to the football.
The room is good, especially the view from the 11th floor. Staff so friendly and would do anything they could to make your stay enjoyable. Wifi is available on level 3 which is also the area for breakfast and drinks.
Location is fantastic. Right next to the tram/bus station, walking distance to the train station. Centrally located to all areas of Manchester city. Great walk to amazing shopping.
Would defently Reccommend and would stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has very friendly staff in an excellent location. Rooms are good, although the standard was not big.

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, in an excellent location, this should be on your shortlist.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of our Hotel with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the team friendly and our location to be excellent.

The next time you are visiting Manchester, I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
#41 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, ARTS Brasserie is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.