We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Nightmare, which we have yet to wake up from.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central

Save Saved
You added Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8 Commercial Street | Hill Quays, Manchester M1 5NZ, England (Manchester City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
beijing
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Total Nightmare, which we have yet to wake up from.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I look at previous reviews and wonder if the reviewers and my family stayed at the same place.
The rooms in the apartment were tiny! Really tiny!
Add to that fire doors which obviously have to be closed, glass and perspex furniture and balcony doors that had to be opened due to the heat, ( ongoing problem if all reviews are to be believed), and this place has to be the most unsafe environment we could have chosen for a three year old.

Seven floors up... balcony doors open... rooms the size of a postage stamp.

That's okay, we all make mistakes. The managers at Blue Rainbow make the mistake of not listening to the guests. They compound the mistakes by having no empathy with the guests.
As soon as we were in the apartment we knew it was wrong and spoke with the reception staff and Booking.com with whom we had made the booking.
I have never known such "passing the buck" . Bottom line though was that the hotel decided whether or not we were charged for the remainder of our stay if we left the following morning. They decided that we would be and charged us accordingly.
They then ignored our emails for days until I posted on their Facebook page, ( message has been deleted).

The response received concentrated on the heat wave and the fire doors. It did not at any time address the fact that the apartment just wasn't safe for a three year old.

Blue Rainbow has taken or money under false pretenses for a stay which didn't happen at an apartment hotel which I wouldn't recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    154
    74
    58
    61
See reviews for
75
171
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
garstang
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall a really nice apartment but be aware this is also a development with private dwellings within the building and not solely for the use of Blue Rainbow guests. Rooms nicely decorated but some of the furniture looks a little less loved than when it was new but nothing to detract from the size of the bedrooms. Living area a little cramped for four people in the two bedroom apartments but sadly missing was some furniture for the balcony.

Location was ideal, secure parking £14.95 per day. Well worth it given the fact the NCP carpark close by isn't secure. Saw some youngsters on the car park doing something with illegal substances. Better to be safe than to be sorry.

A great night sleep was had by all and the espresso machine found in the top end apartments was very welcome for that early morning caffeine hit.

The two down sides to our stay was firstly the heat of the rooms in the warm snap we have currently been having. Only one fan provided and this had to be requested from reception as the fan that appeared on the inventory was missing. Secondly the male receptionist who checked us in was surly, other staff members were very helpful.

Definitely stay again. Well worth the money at the special rate we paid but even at full price, the rack rate seems fair for what is on offer. Would recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Andre couldn't do enough to help all the guests and was an example of excellence.

The apartment was good although could have done with some air conditioning unit given the warm weather.

Everything worked besides the freezer.

The bedside table was a little bit too flush with the bed and I managed to accidentally head-butt it on one occasion!

Andre was the star of the show though and was always on hand to assist.

I would certainly recommend the Apartments and intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in these apartments when on business, really good value for money. Large and spacious. They were cleaner than previous apartments I had stayed in. The only down side I would say these apartments had was the lack of windows to be opened in my bedroom, meaning it made for a very warm nights sleep. The rest of the apartment really was up to a very high standard and the customer service was some of the best I have come across. I would definitely stay here again, location was excellent and I had a rather large balcony. I stayed in an executive apartment. When visiting Manchester this is a great place to stay, a real gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not sure why you have to buzz to even get through the door... reception were quite surly at times. Room was very nice looking, view onto rubbish dump however. Towel rail didn't work, shower was very low, not at all suited to a tall person like me. Bedroom was really hot at night even with the radiators off, and window couldn't be opened as it opens into the corridor with other guests potentially walking past. Only found the fan at 5am and hardly had any sleep.

Extended the check out of the room (because of not having had any sleep because of the boiling hot bedroom) without a problem via phone to reception... then cleaning staff walked into the room about an hour later with no warning!

Probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at these apartments twice now, using their great offers (sign up to their mailing list!). The apartments are clean, spacious and centrally located in a quiet street just behind the Deansgate area of Manchester, centrally located for bars, shops, restaurants; perfect for partying or sight seeing. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are well stocked and facilities are good. Beds are very comfy, and the rooms feel like a home away from home. My last visit was with my partner and my parents. We had a two bedroom apartment, and it really did feel very homely, with enough privacy for both parties. I would highly recommend for any type of visit, and will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have used the Blue Rainbow Apartments quite a few times and overall the experience has been very positive. It is a bit of a walk from the main shopping areas so be prepared however a taxi can be ordered through reception at very reasonable rates. The apartments are very clean and functional with all the facilities you might need. We have signed up for their email alerts where you are informed of special offers which makes these apartments very affordable. Would stay again but only by paying the special rates not the headline price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central

Address: 8 Commercial Street | Hill Quays, Manchester M1 5NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Manchester City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 Specialty lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WINNER MARKETING MANCHESTER TOURISM AWARDS 2009***AWARDED GOLD AWARD-ENJOY ENGLAND 2009/10 one of the top Serviced Apartment providers in the country. - Constructed in 2008, our 80 one & two bedroom apartments are located around a feature atrium overlooking a delightful indoor garden. Features include a 24 hour reception, secure underground parking (£9.50/night), 5 star quality & service, 42” plasma TV, movies & music on demand, Wi-Fi, cabled and keyboard internet available, telephone, 900 thread count Egyptian cotton towels, bedding & robes, goose down duvets, Toiletries from the White Company & Elemis, welcome bag on arrival including milk, orange juice, cereal selection, biscuits, a selection of teas and coffees in every apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rainbow Apartments Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Rainbow ApartHotel - Manchester Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.