We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business stay in May” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chambers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chambers to your Saves list
Hilton Chambers
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Business stay in May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a very tight business budget, I selected this hostel on-line as I liked the white painted exterior and the location, it's smack bang in the Bohemian Northern quarter and it was walking distance from where my seminar was being held. I opted to stay in a 6 bed all female dorm as the single units were all booked out. Luckily the room was occupied by other single travellers as well as a 3 person group.

Pros
The room I stayed in was on the street side and noise from buses and weekend revellers not too bad. The condition of the dorm was good 2 star and the power shower was in excellent in working condition. Lots of hot water. Staff were punctilious and efficient. They will quiet down excitable slightly noisy youngsters any time from 11pm. The guests come from a wonderful range of nationalities and age groups (manly teens and early 20s but a few middle aged folk dotted around) for you to chit-chat with if that's your thing. There was a continental breakfast inc. in the brilliant price (approx £80 for 3 nights) and a free communal fridge to store your own food stuff if needed. Free wifi and a common room with TV and pool/ billiards. Secure storage for luggage and valuables if required.

Certainly put me in mind of using hostels next time I travel for leisure on my own.

Cons:
Rooms only get cleaned once a week or something like that but us girls did keep the room tidy. The 2 small bins in our 6 woman room was generally overflowing so the alleged once a day clearance needs monitoring to see if that's enough.
A mad howling window cleaner woke us up on Sunday morning. Quite strange but just a fluke.

Room Tip: Do remember to take ear plugs and eye cover if you sleep light. I would recommend asking for a slot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review - all these points are great for our travelers planning on staying with us:)

Being a hostel, we do rely on guests keeping their room tidy so thank you very much for that too - the rooms generally get cleaned when people are checking out as there are otherwise bags, etc. in the way, but we will definitely take note of the fact that the bins do need to be checked. Of course if you feel they need to be taken out you can let us know at reception and if the housekeepers have gone we will be happy to run up and get it done for you!

We're very happy as well to hear that you will more likely consider a hostel in future - it is surely a more economic option and it's lovely to know that people, even on a business trip, have an openness to sharing space with other people, as that sometimes seems to be becoming a rarity! Thanks so much and we look forward to welcoming you in again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
3
21
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed in a private room. The place was easily accessible. 10 mins walk from the Shudehill Bus Interchange. 10 mins walk from the Piccadily Train Station. Restaurant/Eatries available easily.
The Hostel was clean, well maintained and the staffs were very helpful. If want to visit Manchester City or Manchester United, the information provided in the Hostel is very useful rather than opting for Train Ride from Piccadily. Wifi is good. Breakfast was simple and good.

Room Tip: A nice place to stay. Ideal for youngsters. Will definitely return here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks! Being here at reception 24/7 we are always happy to help you to find the easiest and cheapest way of getting to where you want to go :)

Our location is indeed close to all public transport links, and a million great restaurants and bars are right on our doorstep :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went up to Manchester for a weekend to see friends of mine, and booked in here. I was impressed with the location in the Northern Quarter which was a short walk from the city centre itself and made getting around real easy. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm room which had relatively new beds and looked nice with timber floors and a shared bathroom. The shower was very good and hot, and other roommates friendly. I liked the communal kitchen area and lounge of the hostel it seemed cosy, especially the games room. Definitely a good place to stay, breakfast was included in the price. Secure premised with a locked door after hours but I could still gain entry with my room card.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
What a great review, cheers!

While Manchester city center is quite small, our location (especially with the Northern Quarters twisty-turny streets) does make it easier to find your way around! Our guests are great and it's lovely to see solo/group travelers meeting new people in our communal areas :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in 6 bed mixed dorm for 2 nights. The staff are friendly, and the hostel has nice area for breakfast and preparing food. The breakfast was quite nice, although had to ask for milk jugs to be filled on 2 occassions. and there is a nice common room. Although he street can be a little noisy, had no problems sleeping. Everybody was in bed at reasonable time.the rooms were clean, but was a little disappointed that they hadnt cleaned the rooms when i had arrived even though this was about 4. The showers were fine and toilets were generally clean, although on one occassion i felt they needed a good cleaning and the bins were full. Overall i would recommend this hostel and location is excellent. with little bit more cleaning and more milk this would be great place to stay and good value for money. also the windows in the rooms could do with a good cleaning. Hostels are often dependent on the people you share with being respectful and as these were ok and i slept ok, this was a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for leaving a review!

Unfortunately on busy mornings we can get bowled over by lots of check ins and find it hard to get a moment to leave the desk - in this case we try to put more jugs out, but it's hard to guess sometimes.

We do indeed rely on our guests to keep their things clean and tidy after the housekeepers' have left, but this is not always the case and we apologize for what you experienced! If you do ever feel like this however you can come to reception to let us know and we'll be happy to come and replace the binliners for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As far as hostels go, the Hilton Chambers was sort of the bee's knees. I wouldn't realize by what an extent until three weeks later, when I'd stayed in all class of places (from a basement with what could quite possibly be the largest spider I have ever seen in my life, and instantly murdered using some German kid's shoe [not present at the time] and feeling instantaneously bad on all sorts of levels, to what was virtually a hotel. This place is a very good, extremely well-priced hostel; very inexpensive, even, as I was only in a four-person room (and the other folks didn't even show up). Hilton Chambers is exceptionally clean, and the rooms are actually rather spacious. Great location in Manchester; just down the way from Piccadilly Gardens (and by several bars serving the ever glorious Boddington's).

While you do not have a safe in your room, the front desk will hold any of your personal items in their lock-box, which is behind their 24-hour reception. Hilton Chambers has their stuff in order, and are even a bit (through reasonably) strict.

On an unrelated note, the Manchester version of London's The Eye is totally worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Haha! Fear not, there are no spiders here to induce any accidental spider-cruelty! You're right, we are close to lots of transport links and great pubs - some of which brew their own lager and keep it exclusive to that one, single pub!

And true, we are strict occasionally - we understand that some people do actually WANT to sleep whilst traveling, so we put a ban on any noise upstairs after 11pm (people can continue to have a laugh in our communal areas if they wish!)

Unfortunately though, everyone, the Manchester Eye has been taken down! Our new thing is a ride - probably as high as the eye - so it's the same thing really.....except you're spinning round and round and perhaps don't have QUITE the same sense of security ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here on a Tuesday night at the end of November after having gone to a gig at the MEN. At first we went to the wrong hostel (Was only around the corner and the staff there were more than happy to direct us to the right place). The staff at Hilton Chambers were also extremely helpful! I lost my friend at the gig, went back to the hostel and they kept me company until she came back! The room was amazing for what we paid! (£55 for a double room for a night) My only real disappointment was the lukewarm water from the bathroom sink in the morning. Key card entry to the hostel and to the rooms, so is very safe. Very central location, close to things to do at night, places to eat, and transport. We were very happy with our trip, and next time we go back to Manchester, we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for leaving us such a great review! Our reception is here 24/7 so we're always happy to help, or in this situation keep you company. Having traveled ourselves we know it must be daunting to have lost a mate in a city that you don't know too well!! We hope you enjoyed the concert, and that you will come back soon to experience more of Manchester and our wonderful Northern Quarter :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Overall it is good. My room was on the attic. It was big and feel comfortable but one thing is that the radiator does not work! In a evening in Nov it is very cold to stay in a attic room without heater. Then the reception gave me a hot-air fan so my room could get warm. Plus, the hair dryer borrowed from the reception doesn't work either. Besides, the hotel is good and worth the value of money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chambers

Address: 15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Chambers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chambers Hotel Manchester
Hilton Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chambers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.