We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Chambers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Chambers to your Saves list
Hilton Chambers
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Overall it is good. My room was on the attic. It was big and feel comfortable but one thing is that the radiator does not work! In a evening in Nov it is very cold to stay in a attic room without heater. Then the reception gave me a hot-air fan so my room could get warm. Plus, the hair dryer borrowed from the reception doesn't work either. Besides, the hotel is good and worth the value of money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
4
22
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good location, helpful staff willing to take a pic and organise a taxi. Decent amenities like kitchen with plenty of glasses! and smoking area. No curfew. Seemed clean overall. Buzzer system to gain entry to the hostel and key card to gain entry to the rooms so was secure also No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good location, right in the city center and really close to tons of stuff and the main train station. Breakfast was pretty basic and a let down compared to the rest of the place and the fact that its not cheap for a hostel. Clean, modern rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 1 on Tuesday and were pleasantly suprised by how clean the room was, the beds were very comfortable too. Having never stayed in a hostel before I wasn't sure what to expect but as we had a private room with en-suite bathroom it felt more like a budget hotel.
The only problem we had was that there was no hot water in the morning, there was however a notice behind reception explaining that there is usually a shortage in the mornings when people are getting ready to check out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. The bedrooms were clean and spacious. The price was very reasonable. Breakfast was very basic, but as expected. Tea and toast was available 24/7.

Great location, right in the city centre, the staff were very helpful with taxis and recommendations and things.

Good tip - we parked at the Church street car park, but it was £15 per 24 hours. We later saw a car park equally close, for only £6 per 24 hours, it's on Ducie Street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in a double room for two nights one weekend. The hostel was really clean including the spotless bathrooms. Breakfast was very basic, but to be expected for the price I paid for the room. Unfortunately the hostel was very noisy, not just the noise from other guests and people outside but the doors were really heavy and constantly banged shut whenever people entered and left rooms. Overall though a fine hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Positives - budget accommodation in location close to night life in Manchester. Facilities in the room were average.

Negatives - not many people staying in hostel so the place lacked atmosphere. No walking tours or other activities made known, apart from a pub crawl with the neighboring hostel. People were yelling and screaming in the streets until early hours of the morning making it difficult to sleep.

I would suggest people visit another city with more to do and more of a positive atmosphere, like Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#66 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#2 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre-MEN Arena
0.6 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#52 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chambers

Address: 15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Chambers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chambers Hotel Manchester
Hilton Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Chambers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.