We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Hilton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manchester Deansgate to your Saves list
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #46 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Bangor N.Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay at Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was our second time staying at the Hilton. We stayed for three nights at the end of June. Everything went smoothly absolutely no complaints about the hotel. One good thing about staying here is it's at the end of Deansgate ,and is quiet at night with no bars etc near the building.

  • Liked — Quality accomodation
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    839
    386
    187
    166
See reviews for
177
1,139
96
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Summary:
A superb hotel in Central Manchester – probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Britain (and I have stayed in one, or two, or three).

When and why we stayed:
We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2007 for a Week-end Break.

Cost:
We paid £150 per night for the room including breakfast and dinner (both nights). We booked via the hotel’s website.

Room:
We stayed in Room 1409 on the 14th Floor (excellent views through the floor-to-ceiling windows). The room was ultra-modern with a wall-mounted Plasma TV (channels available include Sky Sports); king-sized comfortable bed; Ikea-like Furniture; a spacious wardrobe; and modern art on the walls. The bathroom / toilet was slightly cramped but clean and modern - complimentary Crabtree & Evelyn products were provided. The room also had a hairdryer; Internet connection (not free); safe; and an Ironing.

Avoid the ridiculously-priced mini-bar - a can of coke cost £3:50 and a 250ml bottle of Nottage Hill cost £9:95. There is both a Sainsbury’s Local and Tesco Express 5 minutes walk from the hotel (leave the hotel, turn right, and head up Deansgate).

The Hotel:
Our room rate included breakfast and dinner at the hotel’s Podium restaurant. The breakfast buffet is superb: wonderful fresh fruit selection; cereals and nuts; full English selection ; breads and pastries. For dinner, our offer gave us £25 each to order from the A La Carte dinner menu. This was enough for three courses. My wife thought the food excellent. I thought the food quality good but the portion sizes were too small for my appetite – they matched the minimalist style of the restaurant’s décor. Service on both nights was chaotic and disorganised.

The hotel contains a free to use Livingwell gym and pool.

The hotel’s highlight is its cocktail bar called Cloud 23, which is on the … hotel’s 23rd floor. The bar is extremely popular – not just with hotel guests, there is always a long line for the lift that whisks you to the bar in seconds. Hilton guests receive priority access for the lift – show your room key to the steward. The bar may be posey, pricey and pretentious - a daiquiri and a mojito cost £15 - but it is worth a visit! The views from this vantage point are outstanding – the railway below looked like a train set. We could even make out the Rovers Return in the nearby Granada studios (unfortunately you can no longer tour the studios). TIP: for the best views turn right when you leave the lift.




The hotel does not have an on-site car park. Guests receive a 40% discount at the NCP opposite.

Location:
The hotel is in Manchester city Centre, on Deansgate in the shopping district. There is a 16-screens AMC cinema next door. The combined Deansgate railway / GMex Metrolink tram stop is nearby (leave the hotel, turn left and go down Deansgate).


The city:
In my opinion, Manchester is now England’s second city despite being home to United. My lovely wife, Angela says Manchester is great for shopping. We visited the Peoples Museum in nearby, Bridge Street. This free-entry museum is excellent. The highlights of the visit were the magnificent hand-painted vintage trade union banners and the collection of football memorabilia loaned by the Professional Footballers’ Association. We also visited The Lowry – in nearby Salford Quays, a short tram ride away from the hotel – get off at Harbour City. The Lowry is a fantastic modernist building and is home to a theatre and art gallery, whose displays include the work of legendary Salford-based artist, L.S.Lowry. Next to The Lowry is an outlet mall. Whilst my wife shopped, I visited the nearby Imperial War Museum North. We both enjoyed our stay in Manchester, our only regret was that our stay wasn’t longer.

Feel free to E mail me if you require further information.

  • Liked — The opulence
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton Deansgate for two nights in late April 2007 to attend a family wedding. We arrived on a Friday and checked out on the Sunday. We flew into Manchester from Dublin and as a result we arrived at the hotel at aproximately 1.30pm. Although check in isn't officially until 3pm this was not a problem and we were allocated a room on the sixth floor.

We booked a standard room at a wedding rate of STG£135 per night including breakfast. The room was to the rear of the hotel with views across the city - nothing spectacular to look at but nothing bad to look at either!

The room itself is in our opinion rather small. It comprises of a double bed, work station with chair and a small table and bedroom chair and ensuite bathroom. The plus side to the room is the flat screen TV with the usual British terrestial stations plus selected Sky Sports stations. The window is floor to ceiling and brightens the room. There is also a very good air conditioning system.

The restaurant which is beside reception is called the Podium Restaurant and is where we ate on Friday evening. The selection of food is good and reasonable. We both enjoyed our meal.

Our next visit to the restaurant was for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning. The breakfast is a buffet type with an excellent selection of hot and cold food which you help yourself to. Tea or coffee is served to your table. This was one of our better breakfasts to have in any hotel we have stayed in.

Check in and check out were handled perfectly by the staff who were also very helpful with a number of queries we had over the weekend in relation to non hotel issues

The highlight of the hotel is Cloud 23 which is the main bar located on the 23rd Floor. This is accessed by a lift beside reception. Although there was a queue on Friday evening, as residents we were allowed to "jump the queue" and head straight up. The views of the city are amazing especially at night accompanied by very expensive cocktails!!! Our only regret was not going up there the following evening when it is bright to get a true impression of the height and views.

Complimentary newspapers are available - The Times & The Manchester Evening News. Other papers are available to purchase.

The hotel has it's own leisure facilties. I used the steam room, pool and hot tub of which the later two have amazing views down to street level - well worth a visit if on the small side.

My wife and I both made use of the Spa - my wife had a manicure and I had a massage - both treatments were good.

The location of the hotel is within waliking distance (aprox 10mins) to the main city centre shopping areas i.e. the Arndale

The hotel is classified in other websites and reviews as a five star which it definitely is not. It is however a four star deluxe.

Overall we would recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Maybe not good value for those from Eurozone countries but appears to be good value for British based customers

  • Liked — Cloud 23
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel when we were in Manchester watching the George Michael concert and overall we were very impressed. The room was nicely decorated, modern and clean, and the bathroom was spotless and very plush! The view from the room, on the 14th floor, really was something special- a people watching paradise! We also visited the Cloud 23 bar. As we went after the concert had ended (around 12am), there was no queue and it was the perfect venue for a quick night cap. The cocktails are expensive but it is worth a round just for the experience. The hotel's setting is also a bonus; a ten minute walk to the city's main shopping area and right next to Deansgate Locks and a tram station. A great night in a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Stayed here not long after the hotel opened - The bedrooms are pretty good, fantastic views from the floor to ceiling windows.

The staff were still a bit green and not sure what was going on - i'm sure they have sorted it out by now.

The ground floor bar and restaurant were very quiet - Cloud23 the bar on the 23rd floor is worth a visit and as a resident you can get preferential access - get a table booked if you are with of a group and watch the action!

We had a fire evacuation at 11pm it was a pain in the neck walking down the 18 floors - but at least it wasn't a fire.

The Hilton is five minutes walk from all the action in central Manchester and cloud23 is a great place to start. The leisure club is a bit on the small side and its not really the place for a spa break.

  • Liked — Great Views, Cloud23 Bar
  • Disliked — Soul-less Ground FLoor Bar & Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Had the good fortune of being put up at this hotel whlst on buisness in Manchester.

Modern high rise hotel in fantastic location, surrounded by attractions,pubs and restaurants ect.

Never had time to use the facilities, but the breakfast was excellent. The staff were very professional and were always on hand to assist.

Rooms have floor to ceiling glass, and with being on the 13th floor i had an excellent view of Old Trafford and the surrounding countryside.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Pricey location, but you get what you pay for!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

A contender for one of the best hotels in the country! I have stayed in many and the Deansgate Hilton was superb! The rooms are stunning, the staff are down-to-earth and friendly and there is a really nice atmosphere everywhere you go.
You have to come and try this hotel!

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#44 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manchester Deansgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.