We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why complain?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Manchester Deansgate to your Saves list
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #38 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Why complain?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

First time at this Hilton, and was very impressed, from Pedro at reception who was a total gentleman, and answered all our questions, to the room which was lovely and big spacious bathroom and then the very special Cloud23, which made us feel very special with the amazing service and awesome cocktails.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you booked to stay with us; I hope that this is the first of many stays at Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

I am really pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you found every aspect of the hotel and our service to be excellent.

The team at Hilton Manchester Deansgate are delighted to be able to offer you a warm welcome and efficient service and Pedro has been made aware of your kind words

We hope that you are able to return to stay with us soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    760
    337
    171
    141
See reviews for
159
1,010
88
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel is a very solid performer on the Hilton-standards scale, and looks and plays the part of a very stylish and upmarket property. This can however have its downsides. For example, the executive lounge is closed by 8pm so that the space can be subsumed into the lucrative 'Cloud 23' bar, for which people line up in all weathers.
The rooms are nicely furnished, and the beds comfortable and well furnished with pillows and linens. This time I had a room with a separate bath in the bathroom, and it does make a difference.
There was a rattle from the aircon system, and an engineer attended promptly, knew what to do and fixed it, something as a light sleeper I was very happy about.
Breakfast in the restaurant, off the lobby, is a full range of good quality, fresh and tasty food to suit most tastes, and this morning the service there was superb - attentive and anticipating needs which can make all the difference to getting a day off to a good start.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased that your guest room was to your liking and that you had a good night’s sleep in our comfortable beds.

Thank you for your feedback relating to the closing time of our Executive Lounge. Unfortunately, due to fire regulations we are restricted to 300 guest’s maximum at any one time on the 23rd floor. The Executive Lounge shares the 23rd floor with our Cloud 23 bar; therefore we have to stagger the opening times of both outlets.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast prior to departure and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

room well furnished and very comfortable - no noise issues and great views over the city

breakfast also good with nice quality ingredients and plenty of choice

cloud 23 bar - though a bit poncy was well worth a visit and drink - just for the views

I would definitely stay here again on business and or otherwise

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us recently; I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay

Thank you for visiting Cloud 23 and I am absolutely delighted that you great time and enjoyed the wonderful cocktails that our skilled team create for our guests whilst enjoying the wonderful views of Manchester and beyond.

My team and I look forward to your next visit, which I hope will be very soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This experience was one I will be repeating. The hotel is excellent, the service is top and the location is ideal.
I would especially recommend Cloud 23 with its contemporary interior and beautiful view of the city, this is a must. The only issue I had was the one time I tried calling reception, it rang out for some time and I didn't get an answer so in the end I didn't book breakfast with the hotel and went out instead.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone.

I am absolutely thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you encountered excellent service throughout your stay.

We are very fortunate to be centrally located within the city and I am glad that our location worked well for your visit to Manchester.

I am extremely sorry that your call to our Front Desk went unanswered. This is highly unusual. I have shared your feedback with our Front of House Manager to ensure that the shortfall you encountered does not recur in the future. Telephone answering in all departments is ordinarily of a high standard.

Thank you recommending us to fellow readers and we certainly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton last Friday, as a special treat for my 40th birthday.My husband secretly arranged for some friends and family to come and surprise us by joining us for our evening meal.
The restaurant staff were fantastic and very helpful in making my surprise just that. The service and food was amazing, no problems whatsoever.....however we did feel that the setting was a little odd (in reception basically) and lacked atmosphere.
The hotel overall , we were not so overly enthusiastic about. Our mini fridge failed to activate, and it seemed they were unable to do anything about this.
The gym facilities were very basic and limited, have seen better hotel gyms at Mercure chains.
We went for drinks in Cloud 23 which we found very expensive although you do expect that. We were asked to leave the cloud at around 2am (we didn't start our meal until after 9 so it got late rather quickly) but were told we could get drinks at the podium bar.....no....they also had stopped serving, which I find quite strange for a hotel bar in the centre of Manchester. 4 of us were staying over, and were told at 3.30am that we were no longer able to get room service,again I find this odd in any hotel, and once again the drinks were overpriced!!
Breakfast in the morning was really just average, having to make your own toast and we also had to take milk off the table next to us as we never received any.
So overall, restaurant staff were fantastic as was evening food, but hotel overall was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you booked a room to stay with us to celebrate your birthday; it was our pleasure to form part of your celebrations.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience in Podium Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have a great team of Chef’s lead by Executive Head Chef, David Gale, who create wonderful dishes for our guests to enjoy. Your kind words have been shared with the kitchen brigade and indeed the team in Podium who had the pleasure of looking after you during your time in Podium Restaurant.

However, I am sorry that you felt the restaurant lacked atmosphere. I appreciate that the design of our hotel is not to everyone’s liking, however, we hope that this does not deter you from returning.

Thank you for visiting Cloud 23 during your stay. I can assure you that Hilton Manchester Deansgate is competitively priced with other hotels in the city and completed a cost analyst when putting Cloud 23 prices together.

I am bewildered as to the comment you received regarding the closing time of Podium Bar whilst you were enjoying your time in the bar. I have highlighted this to our Food & beverage Manager and he is in turn addressing this with his team to ensure that there is no recurrence.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton for a weekend trip to Manchester. It was very easy to find due to it being one of the tallest buildings in the area.

The hotel itself was very nicely presented, with a modern theme throughout. The rooms were very spacious, comfortable, very clean and with great views over the city. The only thing is the overpriced charges to access the WiFi.

The hotel was relatively close to the city centre, allowing us to walk/get a taxi to local restaurants. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone following your recent stay with us.

I am absolutely thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and that you were able to appreciate enjoy the stunning views of Manchester and beyond from the comfort of your guest room.

We are very fortunate to be centrally located within the city and I am glad that our location worked well for your visit to Manchester.

I can assure you that I have taken your comment on board regarding our WIFI charges. Hilton hotels are transparent with regards to all of their charges and we are unable to alter this at hotel level. I have passed on your feedback to our relevant teams within the organisation.

I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Manchester.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It's a shame that there is no free wi-fi services available in the room. In the 21st century this is simply not acceptable. I also think that for such a big hotel the gym could be bigger as it was difficult to access running machines in the morning. Also the lifting area is small and permits only one person at the time. The breakfast was nice, but it was difficult to arrange for a cup of tea/ coffee as sometimes there were no catering staff around. Also, one day my room wasn't cleaned during the day. Several people in my group had the same problem. I also think it would be complimentary to have slippers and a bathrobe in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for your feedback.

Hilton Worldwide is delighted to be able to offer our guests full WIFI access in all areas of the hotel including guest bedrooms. Hilton hotels are transparent with regards to all of their charges and we are unable to alter this at hotel level. I have passed on your feedback to our relevant teams within the organisation.

I appreciate that our leisure facilities are not the largest; however they were designed to compliment the building design.

I note your comment regarding there being no robes or slippers in your room. Unfortunately without a room number I am unable to offer an exact explanation. The current Hilton Standard for our level of hotel does not insist that we provide such items as standard practise in our standard rooms; however we do in our Executive rooms. Our Housekeeping team would have been more than happy to offer robes to you should they have received a request.

I am sorry that your room not serviced in a timely manner during your stay. Our Housekeeping team have been made aware of this and I am sorry that we failed you on this occasion.

My team and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Manchester
#22 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#37 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#37 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Manchester Deansgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.