Stayed here for my girlfriends birthday. Reception were staff welcoming and friendly. I'd requested a bottle of preosecco to be in the room on arrival and called up to confirm that one would be there on ice prior to our stay - entering the room there was no bottle of prosecco so I called reception to have one brought up - loosing the surprise I'd planned was disappointing. The room had nice décor, clean and reasonably spacious for 2 people with comfy beds. View from room was great which id expected as I paid the £10 extra for a 'city view'. A couples massage at the spa 303 was a wonderful experience. Very professional and friendly staff, the best thing about the stay. We had planned to go for a quick drink at cloud 23 before going out for a meal, there's no such thing as a quick drink in there. We approached the bar and were ushered away abruptly to a table and seated, no drinks menu and no drinks order taken. It took 30 min for us to make an order and receive 2 cocktails, we joked about ordering 2 more straight away hoping they would arrive by the time we'd drank the ones we'd just been given. Then there was the effort of getting the bill and yet again, a wait of 15-20 min for our bill to arrive then a further 10 min waiting for the change. So all in all around an hour to have 2 cocktails. There was another couple sitting on the next table who had the same experience and like us, were getting frustrated. I have worked in the service industry for 9 years and have never seen or witnessed something so ridiculous. The bar has no atmosphere whatsoever, had it not been for the view it would have been a complete waste of time visiting cloud 23.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. I am delighted that you received a positive and warm welcome on your arrival.
I can understand how frustrating it must have been not to have had your requirement in your room on arrival after you had taken the time and trouble to contact the hotel to arrange this. This is a very unusual occurrence and I can confirm that procedures have been reiterated to those teams concerned. I hope you accept my apologies.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time in Spa 303 and the team have been made aware of your kind words.
I am so disappointed to read that you encountered a delay in service standards whilst in Cloud 23. David Race, Cloud 23 Manager has been given visibility of your feedback and I can assure you that the necessary action has been taken within his team.
I do hope that you are able to return to stay with us in the future to experience us at our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.