We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, friendly staff, recommend if on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hendam House Hotel to your Saves list
Hendam House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 - 4 Beechmount, Harpurhey, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Manchester B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great value hotel, friendly staff, recommend if on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff very helpful on arrival, given number for taxi and hotel for any queries.
Also helped us out when locked out of room in hotel during early hours of morning.
Shared bathroom was slightly inconvenient but was always free when needed.
Overall stay was a great and would use
again if staying in area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A Gem of a hotel. From are arrival to when we departed the staff were very friendly and helpful especially a guy called Dominic. The rooms are very spacious with a modern feel. The rooms are all very well priced., even at the weekends ( i stayed the Friday and Saturday Nights ) The next time i am back in Manchester i will be staying here. Keep up the good work. Antony B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

a good little hotel to stay if you don't mind the short travel into manchester centre by taxi , watch out as the fares vary from £4.50 to £10.00 for the same journey !!! rooms are large , unfortunately no en-suite but plenty of bathrooms . dom and his team are quite friendly , i would definately stay again

Will Elgee

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi thankyou for your positive feedback Hendham house and all my team enjoyed the time you stayed with us hope to see you again Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

im shocked to see that this place has lots of bad reviews as i thought it was a lovely hotel, i stayed there the weekend as i was visiting family in the area i was greeted by a young lady who was very polite and courteous and made me feel very welcome, i was checked in and shown my room and the shared bathroom i must admit i wasnt keen on a shared bathroom but it was very clean and up to standard, i also had the full english which was very nice i would indeed stay again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly, let me say that it is nothing at all like the photos.
We arrived today in a very rough looking, broken down area. The man that greeted us did seem very nice, though. So we walked upstairs to be greeted by very cheap looking grey painted doors, with number stickers covering old plaques or something similar. The room was supposedly a deluxe room. It was freezing cold, and had no heating. It was a very, very plain room. We had a bed with broken springs which was as hard as rocks. The bedside table had some kind of cigarette burns on, and the other cabinet with a tiny tv on had pen marks and scratches all over.
The view from the room was a beautiful derelict building with boarded up windows and barbed wire fencing.

We didn't even spend the night (ended up spending ridiculous amounts of money elsewhere after this ordeal!) as it was so bad.

Do NOT stay here. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprogget22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i loved staying here it was great i would come back.
it was very clean bedding smelt very nice and clean
beds comfortable service great
bathrooms clean very clean
made me feel wellcome
loved it
very much

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm shocked after visiting this place because yes like some others have said it is like a hostel! You get a plain "bedroom" with no kettle/tea/coffee, no hairdryer, no wifi, no phone signal, no flat screen tv and NO EN SUITE!! Instead the bathrooms had to be shared and had to walk down the corridor with a towel wrapped over you!

There was no soundproof walls as guests were making noises at 3am saying "we're having a party" well clearly, they were and also heard loud banging at the main door because a guest got locked out shouting and swearing! The staff didn't seem to care for any concern you had.

As for the area where it is located it's a rough place and doesn't feel safe so the views outside are an unsafe carpark and a boarded up mental ward! Please save you're money and AVOID I think I expect most hotels are like any other premier inn but not this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trip0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
4.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Hotel Football Old Trafford
#1 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.7 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#1 of 24 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Address: 3 - 4 Beechmount, Harpurhey, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hendam House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing