We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short Break Manchester.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hendam House Hotel to your Saves list
Hendam House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3 - 4 Beechmount, Harpurhey, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Manchester B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short Break Manchester.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A Gem of a hotel. From are arrival to when we departed the staff were very friendly and helpful especially a guy called Dominic. The rooms are very spacious with a modern feel. The rooms are all very well priced., even at the weekends ( i stayed the Friday and Saturday Nights ) The next time i am back in Manchester i will be staying here. Keep up the good work. Antony B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    11
    10
    88
See reviews for
10
26
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

a good little hotel to stay if you don't mind the short travel into manchester centre by taxi , watch out as the fares vary from £4.50 to £10.00 for the same journey !!! rooms are large , unfortunately no en-suite but plenty of bathrooms . dom and his team are quite friendly , i would definately stay again

Will Elgee

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi thankyou for your positive feedback Hendham house and all my team enjoyed the time you stayed with us hope to see you again Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

im shocked to see that this place has lots of bad reviews as i thought it was a lovely hotel, i stayed there the weekend as i was visiting family in the area i was greeted by a young lady who was very polite and courteous and made me feel very welcome, i was checked in and shown my room and the shared bathroom i must admit i wasnt keen on a shared bathroom but it was very clean and up to standard, i also had the full english which was very nice i would indeed stay again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly, let me say that it is nothing at all like the photos.
We arrived today in a very rough looking, broken down area. The man that greeted us did seem very nice, though. So we walked upstairs to be greeted by very cheap looking grey painted doors, with number stickers covering old plaques or something similar. The room was supposedly a deluxe room. It was freezing cold, and had no heating. It was a very, very plain room. We had a bed with broken springs which was as hard as rocks. The bedside table had some kind of cigarette burns on, and the other cabinet with a tiny tv on had pen marks and scratches all over.
The view from the room was a beautiful derelict building with boarded up windows and barbed wire fencing.

We didn't even spend the night (ended up spending ridiculous amounts of money elsewhere after this ordeal!) as it was so bad.

Do NOT stay here. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

i loved staying here it was great i would come back.
it was very clean bedding smelt very nice and clean
beds comfortable service great
bathrooms clean very clean
made me feel wellcome
loved it
very much

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm shocked after visiting this place because yes like some others have said it is like a hostel! You get a plain "bedroom" with no kettle/tea/coffee, no hairdryer, no wifi, no phone signal, no flat screen tv and NO EN SUITE!! Instead the bathrooms had to be shared and had to walk down the corridor with a towel wrapped over you!

There was no soundproof walls as guests were making noises at 3am saying "we're having a party" well clearly, they were and also heard loud banging at the main door because a guest got locked out shouting and swearing! The staff didn't seem to care for any concern you had.

As for the area where it is located it's a rough place and doesn't feel safe so the views outside are an unsafe carpark and a boarded up mental ward! Please save you're money and AVOID I think I expect most hotels are like any other premier inn but not this one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this Dungheap via the internet, where they claim to be a "three star" hotel.

Lets see... No en-suite, no Internet, stained sheets and pillowcase, stained mattress, no facilities in the room at all, no way of getting back in when you leave, and they have the gall to charge £59 for this?

That is before I cover the guests walking around in the nude, the complete lack of secure parking, hearing the couple next door having sex, and the public hairs in the bed.

NEVER EVER staying here again. Please, for your own sanity, avoid it like the plague, because if you stayed you'd likely come away with it.

Room Tip: Don't book here at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Address: 3 - 4 Beechmount, Harpurhey, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hendam House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Budget Places, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hendam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.