We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Horse

Grey Horse
80 Portland Street | M1 4QX, Manchester, England
+44 161 228 2595
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 178 Nightlife in Manchester
Type: Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the most Quaint, traditional cask ale pub in the Heart of Manchester, with its friendly cosy atmosphere, serving a Great selection of Hydes fine cask ales plus various guest ales also Lagers, ciders, bottled beers, wine, spirits & Guinness. Sandwiches & Hot drinks served daily, close to all amenities, promotions on through out the year including Beer Festivals. Staff extremely helpful if you need to know how? What? Where? Just ask, so welcome & look forward to seeing you soon.
Accrington, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Worth a visit. My partner and I were on a night out in Manchester and popped in this pub for a drink. The lady serving was very pleasant and the drinks were decent as was the company. We ended up finishing our night off in here (I will be apologising for my partner being a little worse for wear) haha. Will definitely be calling in next time we are i Manchester.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui1greyhorse, General Manager at Grey Horse, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
That's what were here for to ensure you have a good night out hope to see you soon, thanks for the review appreciate you taking time to write one CHEERS Jacqui & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favourite pub in the city.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Yards away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre rat race this pub has for years been a favourite of mine. Almost feels like your in your own little world when you walk in, and within a few minutes you are. Great atmosphere , beer and a real city centre iconic type place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui1greyhorse, General Manager at Grey Horse, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I admit it is worlds apart from most pubs but glad to see you keep coming back to us CHEERS Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great city centre pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Grey Horse is a wonderfully persevered old pub right in the heart of Manchester city centre. I'm not a big fan of English cask ale but if that's your thing then the selection here will more than wet your whistle. We were in Manchester for a conference and found ourselves here every night after dinner to watch the football and enjoy some craic with the other patrons and bar staff. I heard that its lost a few of its regulars since it was taken over by the brewery but there's still a great mix of locals and visitors. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui1greyhorse, General Manager at Grey Horse, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks Patrick, appreciate your review hope to see you next time your over CHEERS Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Me & my partner had a brilliant time at the pub, great atmosphere, staff were really nice, landlady came round chatting to everyone, it may be a small pub but with lots of character & the beer is excellent with plenty of choices. What was nice was meeting different nationalities we spoke with Scandinavians, Spanish & Irish either on business or holidaying in Manchester.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui1greyhorse, General Manager at Grey Horse, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We may only be small but have a BIG welcome to all & everyone, thanks for taking the time to write your review CHEERS Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The Grey Horse is truly a dark horse. Recently refurbished, we found a warm welcome from the staff, not least Jacqui, the landlady, who knows her stuff when it comes to cask beer. There is a good selection of beer in this Hydes pub, truly one of Manchester's Finest. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui1greyhorse, General Manager at Grey Horse, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thanks for your review appreciate you taking time out to let prospective customers know bout our quaint little pub CHEERS Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Horse also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Grey Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.