We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runger Lane, Manchester M90 5DL, England (Formerly Manchester Airport Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Fethard
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed one night in the hotel as we were booked in to go on the coronation street tour. The hotel is only a 25 minute drive from Manchester city centre. We found all the staff to be friendly and very efficient. Check in time was very fast. The reception area is very clean and modern with lots of comfortable seating areas. Food was available from 5 pm-10 pm. We arrived to the hotel around 4pm and the chef obliged us by preparing food early as my son was feeling hungry. The room was very spacious, clean and had the most comfortable beds and pillows that I have ever experienced in a hotel. The bathroom was spotless and contained a huge walk in shower. they supplied a generous supply of soft towels and they also supply dove hand soap and shower gel in wall mounted dispencers. Breakfast the next morning was a feast and Lisa looked after us by guiding us around the breakfast areas. We will definitely be back to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    76
    32
    37
See reviews for
76
73
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for one night to collect my stepdaughter from Manchester Airport the following morning.

The staff on check-in were very friendly and full of banter, check in time was very minimal and simple.

The room was a decent size, with a very comfortable cosy bed.

Lovely big shower ( no bath ) nice clean room with all you need for a night's stay.

Breakfast was nice ( weirdly no Bacon???) Gutted as I love bacon with my cooked breakfast, its kind of the norm! But still scrambled egg, sausage, beans and toast etc. Tried the orange juice but it was watered down so left it.

Ideal location for airport. I do think parking should be free if you have paid to stay at the hotel. ( not £5 which it cost )

Lovely staff, they make the place!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK,England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently stayed here twice whilst going on holiday and returning. The rooms are very clean and spacious and bathrooms very modern with a massive shower. The first night we stayed my partner become Ill and needed an ambulance. The 2 guys who sorted everything out for me on that morning I really can't thank enough. They kept an eye on the kids, sorted the room out for another night so my partner had somewhere to go when he returned from hospital. Phoned the ambulance. Booked me a taxi. Found phone numbers so I could rearrange things that had been booked. I really couldn't of done it all without your help. If the manager reads this please can u let me know who the 2 young guys who were working on the early morning of 31st july who helped so much, they really are a credit to your team.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Have stayed in loads of the other airport hotels around Manchester and found the Holiday Inn Express to be the cleanest by far. I know it has had a refurb but it needed it.
Beds really comfy. En-suite rooms excellent. Stayed in a Holiday Inn a couple of weeks ago at another location and they didnt have coffee/tea facilities. Nice to see here.
Arrived early hours and staff were polite and helpful.
Breakfast ok. Would have liked bacon as we had been away on holiday and not had any for a while.
Only complaint is no air con in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the car ark side as the motorway is busy all night and its too hot to keep a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

When I spend a night on my travels in a Holiday Inn or Holiday Inn Express hotel, I always know there will be "no surprises" – the standard of the rooms and equipment is always in the same level more or less and they staying is always as expected in advance. I like it to have such peace of mind about a hotel which I don't know from the past.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked into here before travelling away the next day room was clean & bathroom was spotless! However, beware of the single beds, when you lying on them, your feet feel like they are in the air and the bed feels like it has a camber on, hence you get a feeling like your going to roll off!!!
Breakfast was very good, staff helpful also!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Air conditioning non-existent. So hot we needed to keep the windows open all night. But, we backed on to the motorway, so there was the constant rumble of traffic AND the occasional plane taking off. Not good with the weather we've been having.
Breakfast fair, sausage,scrambled egg and beans was the hot choice. No bacon!!
Continental brekkie o.k.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport

Address: Runger Lane, Manchester M90 5DL, England (Formerly Manchester Airport Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Manchester Airport
Travel Lodge Manchester
Manchester Travelodge
Manchester Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.