We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Oldham Road, Manchester M40 2BS, England (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now, and regard this as a pretty decent example of an Holiday Inn. Being a smaller hotel, you don't expect quite as much as some of the bigger ones, and I think the room rate reflects this. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably sized. The air conditioning/heating works well. The showers (as far as I've experienced) work well and run at a good pressure. Everything is in good order and very clean.

I've found the staff to be generally friendly, helpful and efficient. I've eaten a couple of times in the restaurant, and food was of a good standard, and came quickly. When dining alone, the general pace of service was good, and I was never kept waiting, nor felt hurried.

If I were to be picky, there are a number of things I'd like to see improved.

I just don't find the beds particularly comfortable. The mattresses are very firm and thin, as are the pillows (regardless of whether you choose soft or hard). I find this to be the case in most Holiday Inns, and I've stayed in a lot. After a few nights, my back/sides certainly feel a bit tired, as do I. Also, I'd really like to see ironing facilities in each room. Being a hotel in a city, people travelling by rail and air tend to have to pack things like shirts, and it's really quite nice not to have to request one each time, when I'm sure it should be standard equipment in a hotel of this standard these days.

Also, I noted that despite being a Platinum IHG member, this was never acknowledged upon check-in on any of my visits, neither was I offered an upgraded room, nor explained why one would not be available. I was given a single warm bottle of water and a chocolate bar, but only once and at the beginning of my stay. Given that one has to stay around 50 nights in an IHG hotel per year to acheive this supposed accolade, it doesn't give the feeling that one's loyalty is particularly appreciated, especially compared to certain other loyalty schemes.

Another seemingly minor thing was that I was never offered any condiments with my evening meal, and upon asking, the ones available were rather minimal (sachets of ketchup!). Salads were not dressed or given a choice of dressing. These small omissions do not necessarily ruin a meal, but can make it a lot less enjoyable. The food is expensive enough to warrant this extra effort - it can give a false impression of poor value. Drinks are expensive (£4.70 for a pint of Budvar!!)

Other than that, it's a fairly good experience for the business traveller, and despite its relative remoteness, fairly convenient for town via the Central Park Metrolink just over the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive feedback. Very pleased to read your positive comments regarding the team, the food, service and hotel in general. Great to hear we are getting most things right for you.
We have a new Reception Supervisor starting in a couple of weeks time and one of her main focus areas will be Priority Club Recognition as a valued Platinum member you should be receiving this recognition without fail.
I would love to put irons in all the rooms and hopefully over time I will be able to get this approved for purchase.
We will take your comments on board regarding the condiments and see if there are any further ways we can improve on this.
The beds are a bigger case and as we look to replace in the future this will of course be taken into account.
Glad you are making good use of the new Metro link, that has been a fantastic addition for us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    67
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
15
39
21
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Holiday Inn can get it so right, so as a result when a hotel is just, well, okay - it can feel like a disappointment.
Central Park is situated along a busy urban road. We walked into the a restaurant in Manchester's Northern Quarter (foolishly, it took 50mins and we met some interesting characters) along a decidedly ropey set of half-derelict yards & housing estates, but the hotel itself feels secure & looks tidy. Rooms are adequate & quiet (we stayed in a standard twin), but mattresses were not the memory foam ones we had had at the HI I stayed at last weekend which was annoying - they were SO comfortable.
Staff were friendly for the most part - a young redhead man on reception was very good, the young lady on bar staff seemed allergic to smiling & seemed to regard us ordering a sandwich as a vague imposition.
Communal areas were functional and clean, but uninspiringly designed & laid out, and feature Holiday Inn's obsession with putting televisions with sport on on every possible surface. I had seen the cool roof terrace on the website & booked 30% on the strength of this, so I was most grumpy to find out it was for business conference users only. Bah.
Breakfast was lacklustre. Adequately cooked hot food, but missing treats like fried bread, beef sausage, and fried eggs that didn't bounce. An overwhelming arrangement of three croissants on a plate obviously had us salivating. Hot water in flasks aren't good enough for those of us whom like our breakfast tea scalding. We didn't eat dinner here, but after a late arrival had an expensive and very dry tuna sandwich. The night porter doesn't come on until 11 and the cook leaves at 9pm, so we fell into a hinterland of meagre options after our loooong journey.

I am probably being overly critical on this Holiday Inn. It was fine. But it felt more in the Premier Inn/Travelodge budget bracket, and quite poorly designed. In summary, fine as somewhere to lay your head, but not a hotel you'd go to for the experience at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for you very thorough feedback. I am pleased that you find the hotel okay overall, however we are aiming for more than ok and will take your comments on board. Unfortunately due to the location of the roof terrace, with this area not manned all the time, it is currently not being used for regular guest use, and rather just for conference & events, however this is something we are looking at how to utilise as we move into Spring next year to ensure that all our guests can enjoy this space to its full potential.
I am disappointed that you were not able to get a meal after 9pm, and I am addressing this with our Chef as the kitchen should be manned until 10.30pm and after that the Night Porter is on shift to cover this area as well. This should not have been the case for your stay and I apologise for the inconvenience this caused.
Location we can do nothing about, it is on a busy urban road, and the area is constantly improving with many new works taking place in the area to improve the landscape in general. However this is ideally suited for many with the opportunities to take advantage of free parking which is not the case for city centre locations, and of course we are ideally located for Etihad Stadium & the Velodrome to name a few.
Thank you for your positive comments regarding Dean on Reception, We are working on our team in the Catering section and will address your comments with them as this is not the service we aim for.
I will take your comments regarding breakfast on board to see if there are any further improvements we can make.
Thanks again and I hope to welcome you back next time you are in Manchester.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

this time bit disappointment, at breakfast croissant wasn't fresh, over all holiday inn is preferable. rooms are comfortable, no noise, they do offer some smoking rooms but not sure how much they charge for that, parking is free, breakfast included some time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments. I will follow up your comments regarding the croissants with our Chef as they should always be fresh and plentiful.
As you stated we do have a few smoking rooms, we don't charge any differently for these, it is just a first come first served basis.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. We found the staff to be happy and helpful. The staff at the resturant were brilliant, very attentive and helpful. The food both in the evening and the breakfast were very well presented and tasted just as good as they looked. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

The reception staff on our arrival were very pleasant and polite and welcoming

Would definitely recommend this hotel the staff were outstanding We will definitely return again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello,

Many thanks for the excellent feedback, I will pass it to the restaurant team. Pleased to hear, your stay was great and you will come back to us!
Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed Friday night with my daughter,we went to the red hot world buffet then shopping on the Saturday,the manageress recomended afflecks palace to us as a great place for something different and it was,thank,s Michelle.will visit next shopping trip...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello,

Many thanks for your great feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here after watching a football game. Room is good size and in fairly good state of maintenance. Breakfast is lovely, good all rounder without breaking the bank. Not much around the hotel to get excited, as it is situated in an business park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Glad you had a great stay. Hope the football game was good as well!
See you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for business in August. Arrived early evening to a very friendly receptionist. Room was extremely clean and spacious. Lovely comfy big bed with sift duvet. Bathroom was very clean and offered the usual compliments. I ordered room service and the food came promptly although Luke warm.
Breakfast was the standard hot and cold items you'd expect and was satisfying. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager888, General Manager at Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Gemma
Thank you for your very positive comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the food as well!
Thanks again and see you again next time you are in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park

Address: 888 Oldham Road, Manchester M40 2BS, England (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****NEWLY OPENED…..CENTRAL PARK METROLINK 200 YARDS FROM THE HOTEL…..ONLY 2 STOPS FROM MANCHESTER VICTORIA STATION****Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park hotel for ample complimentary parking just outside the city centre. Conveniently located for Manchester City Football Club, Sportcity; with Manchester city centre and the Arndale Centre, a shoppers’ paradise nearby. Our Manchester hotel is ideally situated for leisure breaks, business travel to Manchester, and for sport enthusiasts.Just 2.0 miles from Manchester City Centre, now accessible via metrolink direct into Manchester Victoria Station, the good-value Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park is in the Central Park Industrial Estate. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and be greeted in the Lobby by our friendly staff. Wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Choose from our 83 en-suite rooms which are all furnished to a very high standard with super king size beds. All rooms feature colour TV, hair dryer, hospitality tray, direct dial telephone, modem points and WIFi. Family and executive rooms are available. Take advantage of joining Holiday Inn’s outstanding rewards programme, Priority Club, and enjoy many more benefits associated with this. Together with our friendly ‘can-do’ service and a global reassurance of quality and standards, you can relax and be yourself here.Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park has 6 natural daylight filled meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park Hotel Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.