We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went at really busy time with. Children, no street noise, brilliant nights sleep, rooms lovely and spacious, breakfast really good too, will defiantly stay again great location.
Really close to town enter too great for shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It is always nice to hear our guests having a great nights sleep and us. I hope that you had a lovely stay with your family In Manchester and that our location was well suited for your needs.

I hope that you and your family visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    514
    154
    50
    33
See reviews for
312
453
129
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for xmas shopping and football match weekend.
The hotel was easy to find and we parked in the Q car park (left after the hotel) we paid £14 for 24 hours as used the hotel discount card for 30% off.
We arrived at the hotel early so we left our bags with reception and went off shopping to a busy Manchester!
When we come back we checked in very easy and the friendly hotel staff told us where our room was.
The room is basic but was very clean, the tv remote wasnt working but this was quickly fixed.
We went to the christmas markets which was lovely but very busy!
when we returned to the hotel bar for a drink it was busy and there was a lot of empty glasses on tables which did look messy.
Breakfast was nice and there was plenty of it, although the serving plates were up quite high!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Portland Street Premier Inn. I hope you had a wonderful whilst visiting Manchester and that everything you visited was in close proximity to the hotel or easy to get too.

I would like to apologize for the empty glasses left on the table and hope that this did not dampen your stay in any way. I will look into why this has happened to ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future.

Other than that I hope you had a fantastic time with us and that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We traveled to manchester at the start of this month for the christmas market. It was our sixth stay at this premier inn and we were again more than satisfied with the quality of accommodation. The rooms are very big, clean and comfortable. This was the first time we had a room facing the main road (Portland street) however there was no road noise and a rather good view. I would advise anyone to stay here. Honestly you could not find a fault especially for the price

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for your review about your 6th visit with us. It always makes us proud when guests return time after time. We hope that you had a wonderful time whilst visiting Manchester.

We hope that you visit us again soon; we look forward to welcoming you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel at all staff tops location fab just made my weekend to know you have a good hotel will definitely return next year sometime but will certainly recommend to family and friends



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here with us a Portland street.

We are happy to hear that you had a great weekend with us and that you will be returning. It is always nice to hear that you would recommend us to your family and friends, which is very much appreciated.

We hope that we see you again soon and again you have a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent stay, one night, at this hotel . Always love the Premier Inn, for the decor, cleanliness, friendly professional staff and very good full breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel, and with the price guarantee, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Portland Street. It is always happy to hear reviews from customers who have returned to Premier Inn because of previous experiences with us. We hope on this occasion we did not disappoint and you had a wonderful time whilst in Manchester.

We hope that you had a great nights sleep and w nice breakfast and that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for one night. We have never stayed in this premier inn before and usually stay at the one near the G-Mex. The room was clean but basic but we did notice how quiet the room was as we had a rear facing room. This we great as you did'nt notice the noise of the city as much. The staff were polite and helpful and we had a great nights sleep. We would definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a rear facing room for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay here with us. We hope that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. It is always nice to hear when our guests say that they will return and that they have had a great night sleep with us.

We hope that we see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

First off, I may be expecting too much from an overnight business stay at this budget hotel!!

I am aware that all hotel chains are relatively uniform and some more bleak than others but this particular branch left a lot to be desired.

The rooms were satisfactorily equipped and just as the advert says, the beds were very comfortable.

Now for the negatives.....

The extractor fan in the bathroom was incrediby noisy when ever the light was on. Coupled with paper thin walls, I also had to listen to my neighbours whenever they used the bathroom too!

My room was on the first floor, the same as the restaurant. The smell of cooked breakfast drifted through the corridors for hours in the morning which left my work clothes smelling like bacon and grease!

Also based on the first floor is a small staff office which I happened to be staying directly opposite. Staff go in and out of the office all morning, and the constant slamming of the door was incredibly annoying.

Although a great central location, I really didn't get the professional vibe from this hotel at all. It seems very self service without a pleasant welcoming front of house.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: 112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.