We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £68
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Very comfortable night sleep. Staff sorted me out with free entry to a local gym. Was always met with a warm welcome. Would recommend for a stay if your attending the Manchester Central Expo centre


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    466
    143
    47
    30
See reviews for
279
390
121
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The lady who checked us in was slightly comfortable about commenting on my friends I.d photograph, this may have come across rude if we were different people.

The location of the hotel was brilliant, the dinner was all up to standard minus the pub platter sauces were missing until I raised the issue and sauces were brought. The room was spotless - well done housekeeping!

We slept great, just a little hot in the rooms but no big deal :). The night receptionist - Andy? was great, very friendly & a good sense of humour.

Breakfast, I waited 20 mins for poached eggs - all I really eat for hot food - I asked for them and when they were brought they were hard, broken and had a piece of egg shell in, slightly disappointing after the wait. Everything else at breakfast was great.

Potential to be great, just little nags really.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I didn't really have high expectations for this one night stay on 4/05/2013. The hotel was clean, very comfortable and we did get a great night's sleep. The breakfast was wonderful and certainly set us up for the day. The staff really made this a great stay. All staff were friendly, efficient and gave great service. The reception staff gave us lots of information and a map about Manchester, trains, buses,etc. The bar/breakfast staff were also very helpful. I am lactose intolerant, this wasn't a problem as they had soya milk, nothing was too much trouble. I've stayed in more expensive hotels and have had to bring my own soya milk! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendly, clean,enjoyable stay, good location, car park discount card did not work properly which meant parking in shared car park was expensive but to be expected from city centre location. However staff at reception very helpful although I was busy and didn't spend a lot of time here just at night I would use again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Hi,
Portland street Premier Inn is a very good place to stay with very good value for money and with good comfort. The staff are good, the restaurant good as usual and the rooms are noiseless giving a peaceful stay. Location is good and close to many important places, with many being reachable by walk. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here with friends over a bank holiday weekend - as well as a great central location, the hotel was very clean with friendly, helpful staff. The breakfasts here are an excellent way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

i have stayed hear twice before and had a great time staff were great. this time a nightmare tv reception was unwatchable so they moved us. problem was the same and they said it was a problem throughout the hotel 2013 to not be able to watch tv is bad and to not have the tech in the hotel for good tv reception is bad bad bad. i did ask instead of having a refund could they move me to another hotel and the answer was no. so they would rather give money back than move me great. do not stay hear if you want to watch tv you have been warned

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: 112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.