We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value,first class staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent value,first class staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I hate self service check in machines but Sarah was on hand to help out & changed rooms so that our two rooms were near each instead on different floors which was a great help! She was efficient & welcoming & we were soon unpacked & ready to enjoy our two night stay. Beds were comfortable & rooms serviced by friendly,helpful housekeeping team. All the staff members were really pleasant & although we did not use the meal deal offer I think it is good value. Drinks in the bar were of a reasonable price too,& again staff here friendly. We heard very little noise from other guests & used the discounted parking at the Q car park which is close to the hotel. Would stay again at this hotel, it cost 198.00 for two family rooms for two nights,Fri/Sat & the midday check out time is excellent, no rushing around. Don't bother ordering newspapers as when we collected ours on both days they looked as if they had had a good kicking & Saturdays magazine was missing despite staff memember checking storeroom. They get dropped off ( or thrown ha ha) outside entrance door at about 4.00 am apparently so you may as well get your own from shop nearby.

Room Tip: We found 3rd floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    514
    154
    50
    33
See reviews for
312
453
130
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel, it was clean, the breakfast was spot on, the staff were very helpful and friendly and our room was tidy and the bed was comfortable. It was in an ideal location in the centre of Manchester. We paid £41 on a premier saver rate and thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed here for one night with my daughter visiting manchester university.got a bit lost trying to find it from the train station but finally found it and was very impressed.
lovely staff and nice clean comfortable room. great for the shops which were just a few minutes away. had a choice of hard or soft pillows which was great and although they don't do toiletries at least they have a hand wash over the sink and bath so you don't have to take soap.

Room Tip: the hotel is right on a busy road but we were put away from the front so it was deadly quiet. they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln U.K.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had a show to see at the Palace Theatre.
The room was a tad small, but very compact and comfy. Our view wasn't that great, but on the upside, it was quiet. We didn't have breakfast there, as it would've worked out expensive for 2 nights. We ate at the Alibi and Wetherspoons underneath. Very reasonable and really good too.
I would stay here again as it's so near to not only the Palace Theatre, but the G-Mex, shops, restaurants, bars and Museums.

Room Tip: To get a good deal, you need to book months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A warm welcome at the reception desk where we were dealt with quickly by an enthusiastic employee. Our bedroom was of a good size, clean and well equiped, TV, Hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making. The bathroom was a pleasure to behold because it had a bath big enough to relax in. We did not eat in the hotel as we were giong out to see a show and had arranged to dine elsewhere at an early hour. The hotel was well positioned for the tram network and most of the city centre attractions were within walking distance. We felt safe at this hotel as your room key card was needed to enter lateter at night and also to access the lifts, thus reduing the risk of intruders being about the premises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Just ending a stay here and I have been very pleased. Compared to other lower cost chain hotel nearby, such as the Ibis, this is better. The rooms are a decent size, bed comfortable. Although the room was on the road in the city centre, the sound proofing must be fine because I had no noise disturbance at all.

Obviously it's a chain hotel so there is nothing particularly 'Manchester' about the place, but if you a looking for a good value city centre place to put your head down, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights this week. I would highly recommend the hotel. Everything about the hotel is excellent. Staff were all so helpful and friendly. They couldnt do enough for us. Rooms were spotless and modern. Heating in the room could be controlled so it was never too hot so that you couldnt sleep. Beds so comfortable. Location is excellent five min walk from all the shops. Breakfast options are great. If you dont want to have the full breakfast you have the grab and go option which was perfect. Overall our stay at the Premier Inn in Portland Street was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: 112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.