We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester, Bury, Blackpool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Central Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Manchester, Bury, Blackpool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel. The staff are all very fiendly. The hotel is clean and tidy despite being very busy. The web site offers a continental breakfast but the staff go to a lot of trouble to persude you to have a full breakfast. We only took breakfast once and went to the resaurant next door on three days.
Room service could and should have been better. On one evening we had to ask for a full set of towels. On another we had to rquest that the room be serviced. At 3.30 pm it had not been touched
Despite all of this, the hotel is good and we have booked in again for December

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    514
    154
    50
    33
See reviews for
312
453
130
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night prior to watching some Olympic football at Old Trafford. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the family room was huge. The location is superb, a short walk to the main shopping centre, yet not noisy during the night at all. My daughter had the sofa bed which looked fairly new so had a good nights sleep. Will definately use this hotel again.
Down side, as mentioned on here before, was the car parking.Due to the one-way system and side street road closures we couldn't locate the discounted car park until walking from where we parked to the hotel. Will know for next time though.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rooms a little small, although that is to be expected. Aside form that great value and centrally located. NIce and modern.
Cannot fault at the price point, especially given its central location...................

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great position. We had evening dinner in the hotel on the meal deal. There was a very good selection of good to choose from and the service was first class. Found all the staff in the hotel very friendly and helpful. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our teams really do enjoy meetng all our guests and we try our best to ensure we offer meals in our restaurant to suit all tastes and pockets with our special offers and meal deals.
I will pass your comments onto our teams for you.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2012. After staying at two other Premier Inn's previously, you could see that this Premier Inn wasn't as 'new' as the others.

But it was still a great base right in the city centre with the usual Premier Inn beds and pillows which are soooo comfortable. So we were happy.

Car parking was a nightmare. This Premier Inn doesn't have its own car park but it's stated when you book that you get discounted parking nearby. However, due to the one-way streets, we had such a job finding it that we ended up parking in the first car park we came to (after searching around) and paid full price for parking (£18 for 24 hours) and a little walk down Portland Street.

Once we'd walked to this Premier Inn, we saw the discounted car park was in a little side-street right next to the hotel which we'd missed when driving around. Annoying, but never mind.

We'd stay here again and next time, we know where the car park is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well, they are usually all the same. This one was clean, in a good location about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping area and the train station, the room was clean, there were some spare pillows in the room and the staff were always smiling, a pleasure to deal with. They were total stars! My friend loved the bed linen.
Only issue is the noise of doors closing, specially on a saturday night with people going in and out in town... It's a bit difficult to sleep past 8am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, General Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really do appreciate all comments. Wonderful to hear you had a good stay with us. I will pass your comments onto our teams for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Portland Street again in the future, please speak to a member of our team on arrival and we will do our best to ensure you are allocted a quiet room. This can be difficult at peak times however our teams are available 24 hours a day to assist in any way we can to ensure you have a Premier stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and were very impressed with pretty much everything. The service was great, room was clean and tidy and a good size, good choice for breakfast . The location is pretty much perfect. Discounted rates for the car park. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: 112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.