We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £68
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Dundalk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfy Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Was there on 2 night stay in manchester, fri and sat nite, on Arrival place was very busy which was a good sign, lookin around as we were waiting was a bit annoying though as seen posters advertising from £29.00 per room per night..... We paid £109.00each for 2 nights (£109.00 per room per night) bit steep considering no breakfast included!!
When we left the first morning to go into city centre, our beds weren't made which I expected but clean towels were left which was ok.. One of the rooms which were with us, ther phone wasn't workin do when they ordered food they had to get restaurant to phone our room to tell us yet were ready...
Lovely hotel, but very very misleading with prices and way overpriced with no breakfast included... :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for all your feedback, I will pass this onto our teams for you.

If you haven't already check out our website it's there you will find our yellow Premier Saver offers, but be sure to book as early as you can. You can also sign up to hear about our Premier Saver Offers and availability.

We do hope to welcome you back to Porland Street Premier Inn again in the future.

Our Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    468
    146
    47
    31
See reviews for
280
395
121
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle Cumbria
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The room was clean and spacious...and it was quiet at the back...always recommended.
I did not think much to the luke warm breakfasts in the morning, and after a particularly poor breakfast on the last day l received excellent service from Paulo who was serving. It brightens up your day when you get good service like this. Well done Paulo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

decent location and staff were helpful and informative. Although reccomended parking is difficult to get to and if using a sat nav will take you to wrong place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for Stone Roses gig and (not surprisingly) paid top rate. Rooms and service were as consistent as you would expect from Premier Inn but room was unbearably hot and there was no way of opening the window. Normally windows are restricted to only open slightly, but these ones were incapable of opening. Even with the air con on full blast, I had a poor nights' sleep after the gig.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel.

Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hi. Stayed here so I could get to the fab Stone Roses gig from Bristol. Not expecting much but it was really quite nice for a budget hotel. Staff were stretched to limit with queues to check in as it was fully booked for the gig. Auto check in didn't seem to be working, but they all did their best and were v pleasant. The room was fine and modern just like the brand promises. Much better than a recent Travelodge experience i had. The air on was great and the room was super quiet which was a surprise given its central location and it's fullness that night. Delivers what it promises and that's good enough for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very good room, clean with Wi-Fi almost free. Quality/cost ratio very high.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I don't like paying for a non smoking room only to be given one that stank of smoke and no opening window.
Staff were really friendly though and lots of restaurants nearby. The little sandwich place across the road is well recommended. Philpotts, hand made sandwiches, much nicer than a Premier Inn breakfast.
I was stuck with this room as I couldn't book anything else in Manchester that weekend. There must be better hotels in Manchester...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: 112 - 114 Portland St, The Circus, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#11 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.