We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not even send my worse enemy there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lansdowne Hotel

Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
Lansdowne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   346 Wilmslow Road | Fallowfield, Manchester M14 6AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not even send my worse enemy there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Had the mispleasure of spending a night at the Landsdowne, I think any longer and I would have slashed my wrists!
I should have guessed the place was bad as the look on the taxi driver's face when I told him where I was staying said it all, poor guy looked as if he'd seen a ghost.
Having seen war zones in Iraq, Libiya etc, this hotel would fit in. Infact even they wouldn't give this hotel a star.
As the taxi driver pulled in, my heart sank, as I walked in I almost collapsed. Had I entered pet semetry! The smell of cat p!ss, dead things just hit you!
I'm sure this place was a former hostel etc as the rooms felt like a prison cell, no hot water, dirty and stinking.
To sum up, you must either be out of your mind to stay here or very cheap.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    22
    12
    47
See reviews for
7
25
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Cheap enough, clean enough. Drum and bass full volume until 2am so no chance of sleep. This was a week night stay following a late work event and preceded an early meeting in Manchester the following morning. Difficult to concentrate after 4 hours poor quality sleep. Room was only £36, we had upgraded from the £35 option as we asked for a kettle in our room - for the extra £1 you get toiletries in your room and facilities to make a hot drink. Receptionist did not volunteer this info, we had to ask.

Room Tip: As far away from the pub downstairs as possible. Unless you have terrible taste in music or are sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel brought back memories. Of emptying the befouled cat litter when I was a child. Calamitous check in - had given my room to someone else with same name, took half an hour to resolve, was given family room which was an 'upgrade' but then asked it I would go in a single room instead although they couldn't offer me a reduction because I'd paid so little in the first place! Stayed in family room, regrettable due to strong smell of cat turds in bathroom - no window or vents, and an overpowering smell of cheap air freshener which failed to mask it. Room was OK, what I'd expect for price but would like a TV that worked - it hissed so loudly over evey channel they were impossible to watch without going mental, spent half an hour fiddling with cables. In terms of value for money, not too bad - this was booked a couple of days before and it was Man U vs Liverpool that day so not may options. You can often get a Britannia Room for £29 which is a little further out but you get a half decent breakfast included. And they don't smell as bad.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't stink - perhaps one with a windowed bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Looking for a hotel in the city centre to stay over after a Christmas party
Premier Inns etc were on average £100 so I looked a little out of town and found the Lansdown. Easily accessible by bus (approx 20mins) and a good price (£40)
Be aware you are paying a cheap price for a cheap hotel
The foyer and bar are nice and the staff were friendly. However the corridor to my sub-terranian room was like something from a Russian prison. The room itself was average size but was clean and sufficient. The bathroom was lifted straight from a prison cell and in need of modernisation but again was clean and sufficient and in full working order
Breakfast was small - two sausage, two bacon, a spoon full of beans and toast and coffee. But for £4.50 you can't really complain
Be aware if you expect Premier Inn quality you will be disappointed but if you appreciate you are paying less than half the price then the hotel was fine

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I'm afraid that this is one of the worst hotels I've been to.
The carpets are filthy and the fixtures and fittings should have been replaced at least five years ago.
Perhaps the worst issue was the over-powering smell of air freshener.
On the good side, the staff were friendly and helpful, but I won't be staying there again, and I can't recommend it to anyone else.
And the moral of the story is - don't get bounced into booking a room before you check out Trip Advisor - I won't again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Waltham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Foyer is fine, but wiring looks a bit suspect. Corridors OK, room very shabby. No telephone, although it is advertised in the brochure in the room. Overhead lights only, no bedside lights. Top of toilet cistern and foot of pedestal both broken. Extractor in bathroom not working, so whole suite misted up. Shower was good, with plenty of hot water, but cubicle was small and shower head was 5' 6" high. Decent size pillows, two each, but very hard, as was the bed. We brought our own pillows, as experience from Travel Lodge has taught us. Cooked English breakfast was good and prompt. Bar has basic amenities and quite pricey, (for the student area- lots of cheap bars 2 minutes walk away). For the room prices, you get what you pay for. However, biggest problem is the noise. Wilmslow Road is deafeningly noisy, even with the windows tight shut - and we were 3/4 of the way to the rear, at the side. Also not helped by the Red Rum night club in the basement, Mon -Sat until 3 a.m., which you can hear quite distinctly, and we were on the opposite side of the building from the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had a good stay - excellent value, cheerful staff and with a bus stop outside with zillions of buses. Comfortable rooms and bed - good shower. Happily recommend. Where Jcurlsalot got his/her opinion from is beyond me - must have been a different place - and obviously has time on his/her hands. Use them

Room Tip: Dunno - but 203 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel

Address: 346 Wilmslow Road | Fallowfield, Manchester M14 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.