We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, free parking a bonus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks)
Medlock Street, Manchester M15 5FJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, free parking a bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this premier inn, had thought twice about booking with them again after a poor stay in another location 18 months ago but this stay was in a different league. Friendly helpful staff at reception and in the restaurant, nice clean room, reasonable facilities, comfortable and quiet considering it is at the junction of 2 busy roads (possibly as my room overlooked the car park). 10 minute walk to city centre. Being able to leave my car even for a few hours after I had checked out was a real bonus. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Quiet overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    342
    90
    18
    19
See reviews for
198
355
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From arriving to leaving we had nothing to complain about. Check in staff very friendly and efficient, thanks Amanda(?)who made sure to let her know if we needed anything. Our first floor room clean and adequate size, beds comfortable, bathroom clean. Extremely quiet A/C.We had contacted hotel prior to visit to request a room overlooking the car park (other side next to dual carriageway) and it was very quiet. Free car park was a bonus in a big city. Went to see Lion Kind and theatreland was only 8 mins walk.

Breakfast was excellent with quick top ups when items getting low, all equipment worked OK, no need to keep putting bread through toast machine as is usual practice, once was sufficient. Lots of choice and again, friendly restaurant staff. Thanks Diane for looking after us so well.

Check out was quick and staff confirmed we could leave our car there after check out whilst we had some time in Manchester City Centre before leaving for home. Again no charge. Big bonus, the free Green Hopper Bus, every 10 mins, leaves from across the road from the hotel if you want to go to the shopping centre which is on the far side of the city centre from the hotel.

Would we use this hotel again when visiting Manchester, definitely.

Room Tip: Always ring after booking (if done on internet) and ask for a room on the car park side which is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was indeed very decent, located just to the south of the city centre, very close to Oxford Road area, which has most of my favourite bars and clubs in Manchester. Decent pub downstairs serving standard pub food, nothing too amazing but certainly more than sufficient. The room was nice and clean, fairly large, good bathroom. Only major qualm is that I think they went a bit overboard on the purple decorations, I know that is the colour of Premier Inn, but that doesn't mean they need to use it so excessively in the rooms themselves . . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Premier Inns. However, this was my first visit to Deansgate Locks.

If you are travelling by car, this hotel has the advantage of offering plenty of free parking which other Manchester City Centre Premier Inns cannot offer. It is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from the main part of the city centre itself.

I had a comfortable night's sleep, great breakfast and found the staff to be very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I normally stay at the Premier Inn in Christie Fields when in Manchester, but it was fully booked so I opted for the Premier Inn Deansgate, The double room I was given was just what you would expect, however when I opened the bathroom door the smell was disgusting, I should have went down to complain but had just driven 350 miles and could not be bothered having just unpacked . I am afraid it did not get any better the room overlooked the Dual Carriageway which had heavy traffic throughout the night which kept me awake most of the night
When I went down for breakfast one of the coffee machines was broken so there was a queue to get coffee, I decided to start my breakfast and wait until the queue dispersed, as soon as saw a gap I nipped up to get my coffee and when I returned Bingo ! the waitress had cleared my table.
I am afraid it was not an enjoyable stay and would not stay here again, I would state however the Staff were very friendly

Room Tip: Don't Bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is an OK premier in but there are better in Manchester.
If you get a room that is on the side of the road or on the ground floor near the foot path you may not get a good nights sleep. The better rooms face the car park.
It is good that this hotel has on site parking but it does get full and there are always lots of vans there due to workmen that stay there because of the parking.
I have had a meal once at the hotel but it was not great (a bit of plastic in a salad).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel was very accommodating in all areas, not too far away from the stadium and not too close. The staff at premier inn are always very pleasant and helpful which was the same with this one at Deansgate, breakfast was superb as always and was nice and hot and plenty of it!!! Look forward to next stay at Premier inn which will be in Leeds, Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Rooms are all fine, nice quiet area even after football match at old Trafford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks)

Address: Medlock Street, Manchester M15 5FJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#27 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated close to Old Trafford and just a short walk to main attractions and transport. Ideally positioned next to the free 7 day city centre shuttle bus service and one of few hotels in the city offering free on site parking. Our Manchester (Deansgate Locks) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel Manchester
Premier Travel Inn Manchester
Manchester Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.