We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but Pricey !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great John Street Hotel to your Saves list
Great John Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel but Pricey !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We have recently spent a night at this hotel, we booked two rooms as we were taking guests. We stayed in Room 24, which was very nice and both the rooms do certainly have the "New York loft apartment" feel to them, however our windows looked out to a brick wall, which gave the room a rather gloomy feel, but after a few drinks in Manchester and crashing on the comfy bed, we did not notice. Our friends stayed in Room 18, with the twin roll-top baths, which im told were Great! On first checking in we had no problems and were served by a friendly smile as if nothing was too much trouble, but with a staff change in shift, so did the attitude.

The Rooftop lounge is great, especially on a sunny day. The pictures of the Hot Tub on the hotels website are deceiving, you could just fit 4 people in with a squeeze and it is rather off putting with the Security Camera right over the top of it!

Overall the hotel is good and very well placed in Manchester, just a minutes walk to the Opera House and 5 minutes to the heart of town, but I do feel it is overpriced £325 for the night and it does not include breakfast! I would return, but only by using there late availability page on their website!

  • Liked — The Roof Top Lounge and its location
  • Disliked — Some of the rooms are a little gloomy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    110
    42
    34
    27
See reviews for
55
356
18
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

My boyfriend and I loved the Great John Street Hotel. The room was awesome, fabulously decorated and the double ended bath on the mezzanine floor was brilliant!

The location is great, just off Deansgate so walking distance to bars, restaurants etc. The staff were lovely, the bar was cosy and a great place for a pre-dinner drink and the roof top terrace would have been great but for the lack of sunshine (not much the hotel can do about that though!!)

It is a little pricey but if you book through the late availability on their website, then much cheaper and definately worth the money!

We will definately be re-visiting!

  • Liked — The bath!
  • Disliked — The price.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

I agree this hotel is far from a dump. Amazing room, a little small perhaps but the gorgeous bathroom more than makes up for it with a free standing bath, walk in shower etc and all this on an upstairs level with a balcony overlooking your bedroom. The staff were attentive and pleasant. Parked our car with the littlest of fuss and when our bulb went in our toilet was repaired whist we were out. The hot tub looks amazing although we did not try it out. Breakfast was good if a little expensive with attentive staff. Overall a little expensive, but get a late deal and grab yourself a bargain. Wil deff go again.

  • Liked — Bath
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

As a frequent visitor to Manchester and having stayed in most of the city centre luxury hotels, I really want to like this Hotel. But despite having given it a second try it just does not work well. Staff are pleasant and keen but seem to lack any real experience. The design of the rooms is very clever but I think they are dingy rather than snug. The lighting needs to be improved as it is impossible to read without difficulty. The rooms are stuffy and the air con did not work. I asked three times for attention to the air con. The staff tried to make it work whilst I was out but failed and did not communicate this to me. They opened a very high window which did cool the room, however at 3am street noise woke us and we had no way of closing the window. The shower would not provided hot water, again despite a request to fix this I have no idea if any attempt was made, but a cold shower next morning awaited me. I asked for a guest’s room charge to be added to my account, despite assurance this would happen they messed this up. All in all this hotel could be good, but unless dark and stuffy rooms and nice but ineffective staff don't bother you, I would give this place a miss.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Right, lets start by saying that this place is far from a dump and I am slightly infuriated that anyone could call it that! The hotel is well designed and beautifully furnished and has a real cosy feel to it but in a contemporary yet elegant way. Quite difficult to describe in all honesty....

The photos on the website really do not do this place justice and fail to show the true intimacy that the hotel has. The bar area is an absolute delight and the service is second to none. A great place to relax away from the busy and crowded bars in Manchester.

Whilst we didn't use the hot tub on the roof terrace it was a lovely space and the hotel offers a drinks service if you prefer to spend your time there.

We stayed in room 32 which is an Opus room i believe and it really had the wow factor when we walked through the door. Very spacious with everything you could really need.... one gripe was that the TV was a little dated but then we didn't go to a hotel to watch TV so no real problem :)

The bed was the most comfotable I think i have ever slept in and whilst the rooms were quite warm there was great air conditioning which kept the room temperature in check.

The hotel is also in a really great location, tucked away down one of the quiet streets but yet not too far from all the action and right across from the ITV studios and Coronation Street set.

To sum it all up i was very impressed with this hotel/ They offer some great deals so don't be put off by the price on their website... best to give them a call :)

  • Liked — Room was exceptional and the bar a true delight!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

I was a bit worried when I read some of the reviews regarding service at this hotel. However I found all the staff charming and helpful. The room was also neither too hot nor cold and I did not hear any noise from either other guests or outside. I can honestly say that this was one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I have ever stayed in and that was at entry level. My only slight criticisms were that there was not enough info in the room regarding tv channels, hotel services etc.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

we stayed in the Opus room, a great sized room and its huge bath is great, the breakfast was delivered to the room the next morning and was really nice, enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others. Intimate and relaxed atmosphere and the room terrance overlooking Manchester would be fantastic in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#21 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great John Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.