We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great John Street Hotel to your Saves list
Great John Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of February. It had been recommended to me by a friend but when I looked at rates for the Saturday night it was very expensive, they had 50% off on the Friday though so we went for that instead. We paid 125 for room only but I checked again just before we went and it had gone down to 110 so it's definately worth checking for deals. The room was gorgeous. We stayed in one of the Baby Grand rooms. There was a living room area downstairs then stairs up to the bedroom which overlooked the living room and the bathroom was joined to the bedroom. The decor was lovely and there was loads of space. The highlight for us was the hot tub on the roof which you are free to use at any time. Bathrobes are provided in your room and we used it twice and were the only guests up there. We didn't visit the oyster bar or have breakfast at the hotel but it looked very nice. We would definately visit again, it was a lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    114
    48
    37
    30
See reviews for
66
405
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Great John Street is a real find. A small boutique hotel where they treat you superbly. The rooms are all beautifully styled - worth a stay just to get ideas for decorating your own place. It's out of the way a little, but once you're there you'll be happy to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I stayed here with my wife (then fiancée) after her work ball. The reception is small to say the least are guests were stumbling over each other (+luggage) a little while waiting to be checked in. We were lucky and received a free upgrade to a Boudoir Grand room. Still I felt that £165 for a room was a little steep outside of London.

The room itself was lovely: very comfortable bed. Fantastic duplex aspect. View from the window was of Great John Street which is not the most inspiring place.

Bathroom was very nice with roll top bath on the mezzanine and separate shower room. Toiletries were of poor quality given the hotel - smelt of washing up liquid.

The cd player was a bit cheap with a 'tinny' sound.

Next day breakfast (incl in the price) was hearty. Checkout was swift.

Overall:
A nice hotel with great and unique rooms. Bit pricey but worth it for a splurge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We got married in December and hired Great John Street Hotel for our wedding reception. What amazing memories we have of the place. The rooms were beautiful and everyone loved the eclectic style running throughout the hotel (we stayed in room 30 with the huge carved French-style white bed and double freestanding roll top baths on the upstairs mezzanine - perfect for the bridal suite!). The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and everyone went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our day was perfect. The venue is an absolute gem, hidden away in Castlefield. Our family and friends are still talking about how wonderful it was even now! Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel is beautifully designed, comfortable and luxurious without being pretentiously posh. The things that stuck out for me: really comfy beds (actually comfier than home which is rare as we have a fab bed), bags already in the room when we checked in (we'd left our luggage in the hotel while we shopped), free DVD hire (current titles), 'real' i.e. pasturised milk for the tea and coffee making facilities, a teapot and mugs (rather than thimbles) and more than one teabag per person, lovely thick carpets. We did stay on an exceptionally cold night (-17) and the room was a little chilly but I think this was circumstance rather than the norm. There was only one minor niggle with the room which was that the iron and board we borrowed from reception were a bit crap and therefore not easy to use. We found the staff to be really helpful and the roof terrace was a nice touch (with plenty glasses available for you to use without having to ask). It felt like they were trying to create a feeling of you being at a home from home, with public spaces open all day so you could use them whenever you wanted.

The only thing that gave the stay a rather surreal edge was that we arrived back at the hotel at 1am and thought we'd have a drink on the roof before going to bed. It was a bit of a shock to find two guests having sex in the hot tub and sufficiently inebriated not to care that four people had just walked in on them. The staff dealt with this promptly (there is a HUGE CCTV camera just above the hot tub!). Needless to say, we weren't tempted to use the hot tub after that! It wouldn't put me off staying there again but I was thankful that it wasn't my mother who walked in on them!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

It was a great place to stay, and all the staff were very professional and extremely helpful, would love to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

I got married at this venue back in August. This hotel was simply amazing and exceeded all expectations. The guests loved it, and are still speaking about it months later!
Particular praise has to be given to the staff, as the service was on a level I have never experienced. They went above and beyond throughout the day, and made it such a special day. If any staff get to read this - thank you very much for helping make this day so special.

I would fully recommend this venue to anyone who is thinking of getting married, having a party or simply looking to treat their partner!

Simply perfect in everyway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Business Hotel in Manchester
#13 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great John Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.