We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hot Hot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great John Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Great John Street Hotel to your Saves list
Great John Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Cheshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked an Eclectic Grand Room for an overnight stay in Manchester. The hotel is compact but very impressive. The split level room is a really nice concept especially with the bathroom on the upper level with the double bath tubs. The bed was big and very comfortable and I liked the little touch of the cookies welcoming you to the room,

Drinks were priced as you'd expect in a city centre hotel of this standard. The bar food was OK but there was a very good selection at breakfast and the food was cooked to order.

A couple of very minor criticisms, but nothing that would prevent me returning.

The hotel was boiling hot, even the staff were suffering. Its an old building with what looked like original windows, so I'm sure there is a constant battle to manage the temperature. There is air con and the windows do open so there was the opportunity to make the environment in our the room cooler.

I'd say little more thought needs to be put in to the lighting arrangements for those of us who need to venture upstairs in the dead of night. The bright automatic lighting in the entry vestibule lights up the whole room so will disturb a sleeping partner. There was some low level lighting on the stairs that could have been left on if controlled by a separate switch and the ability to turn off the auto lighting in the vestibule would have been nice.

Overall a really nice stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book again. Special shout out to Christine who served in the bar and took care of us at breakfast - really nice lady with excellent customer focus

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    110
    43
    35
    28
See reviews for
55
361
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Superb, stayed here on a Saturday night, brought some friends with us too. Stunning service, superb split level room, with the bathroom upstairs. Great breakfast. Lovely rooftop lounge and hot tub, would thoroughly reccomend to all. Ideal for city centre and all the attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Retrospective Review

I have stayed here on several occasions and always find the staff to be incredibly friendly and attentive. The rooms are gorgeous and the bathrooms are lovely - for a hotel I find it very homely and luxurious at the same time! I especially like the split level rooms. I have never tried out the hot-tub on the roof but its a lovely extra touch!

Although it can bit a little pricey I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the end of the year for a birthday gathering.

There were 7 of us in 3 rooms and we were all on the same floor. There was a wedding reception on the first night and a wedding on the second day but you wouldn't have known but for the hairstyles and the poster announcing the same.

We dropped our bags off and headed into town for some shopping and a drink at the top of Selfridges. We came back to the hotel to chill out and went into the bar area. We were extremely envious of the afternoon tea that was being served but this has to be pre-ordered so we had no chance! We went out to eat at an Italian fairly close by. When we came back we headed to the rooftop hot tub. This whole area is usually open to guests but the wedding was taking up half the area but was discreetly sectioned off. We took our fizz up and used the plastic cups provided. Had a great night up there listening to the wedding DJ!!

Breakfast in the morning was not as good as usual. There was clearly some tension among staff and I didn't dare ask for a warmer egg (it was almost cold) for fear of a similar look of daggers from the supervisor.

Apart from that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had afternoon tea here with two friends, which was a very enjoyable and relaxing way to spend an afternoon.

Although arriving early, we were shown to the bar area, where we sat on very comfy sofas. The waiting staff were all professional, helpful and friendly. We were asked several times if everything was OK and if we'd like more sandwiches or tea. One friend had already e mailed our dietary requirements so that one vegetarian and two fussy eaters could be catered for! The sandwiches were good, the scones were scrumptious and there was a good selection of cakes. A number of different teas are available.

Just a few points that we all felt could be improved:

- It would be helpful to be told at the start about the tea selection and for the water to be
poured onto the tea bags. None of the staff was British, so may not have known how to make
tea the way British people like it, but the hotel training should ensure that they do.

- It would be a good idea to describe each of the cakes without customers having to ask.

- Customers should be given a drinks menu so that they are aware of what wines and soft
drinks are available rather than the waitress just saying what there is. I also think that
charging someone £1.50 for soda to go in an orange juice is excessive. Additionally, I would
expect consistency in the size of soft drinks served.

Despite these reservations, it was still a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is one of the best small hotels I've stayed in in a while. The unfussy but luxurious rooms are wonderful and the hotels communal areas pleasant and relaxing. Nice roof terrace and hot tub :) Staff are professional but laid back and unfussy. This hotel has a lot to teach others. Plus how many hotels do you know would give you free toothpaste if you've forgotten yours?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a King mezzanine room.
The room was just stunning with a roll top bath in the room and a great 'wet room' bathroom.
We had drinks and nibbles in the bar which were pricey but pleasant and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Business Hotel in Manchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#22 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great John Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.